jump to navigation

Experiment #9: Blueberry-Banana Oatmeal Chunks April 24, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Recipes, Snack.
Tags: , ,
trackback


I did some baking this morning! This is actually the second time I’ve baked something by myself. I was actually a little nervous about this experiment since it’s a recipe I’ve made up after looking at a billion other people’s recipes and kinda putting things together! But it turned out pretty nice, I must say.

There’s no added sweetener, no salt, and no oil–and it turned out fine! I was kinda afraid it wouldn’t be sweet enough, but I decided, what the hey–an experiment is an experiment! It’s crunchy on the outside and mushy on the inside–just how I like it :-) I believe it’s vegan-friendly as well :D

I was kinda obsessing over it, running downstairs to check on them every 30 seconds since I didn’t want to over-bake it :-P But yar!
Anywhoo, here’s the recipe, if anyone’s interested!

Makes about 7-8 chunks
Ingredients
0.5 cup frozen or fresh blueberries [I used frozen ones–they’re cheaper :-P]
0.5 cup pureed banana [I used 1.25 small banana]
0.5 cup ground quick oats [I “ground” them by hand…since I have no food grinder…I’m such a machine]
0.5 cup quick oats
0.75 cup crushed Kellogg’s All-Bran Original [I didn’t crush them into powder or anything. You can also use more oatmeal instead if you want]
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 tsp baking powder
0.25 tsp cinnamon
3 tbsp applesauce

1. Pre-heat oven to 350°F.
2. Pureed the banana, use a food processor or do it by hand [like I did!]
3. Add the blueberries, applesauce, and vanilla extract. You can mush some of the blueberries if you like, that’s what I did :D
4. In another bowl, mix the cinnamon, baking powder, and the oats together. Then add the wet ingredients on to the dry ingredients. Stir!
5. Drop a wooden spoonful of the mix onto parchment paper or aluminum foil.
6. Bake for 15-17 minutes, depends on how large the chunks are. Then let cool for a minute.

I found the chunks to be just the right level of sweetness, but my tastebuds are kinda sensitive to salt iness and sweetness, so if you aren’t like that, you may want to add some sweeteners!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - April 24, 2008

Wow, I love the vibrant swirl of the blueberries, in the first photograph – gorgeous!

LOOOOVE your recipe!!! Great experiment, for sure!! I like how wholesome it is!

2. Romina - April 24, 2008

That sounds so good! I do believe they are vegan.
I love the no-sugar/no-oil!! =) Perfect!

3. happy herbivore - April 24, 2008

oooh you just inspired me for a cake!

(you rule)

4. Becca - April 25, 2008

Looks yummy :) some of my favorite flavors!

5. lindzakins921 - April 27, 2008

Ahhh – these look yummy!!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

