jump to navigation

Non-Oatmeal #11: Beating the Expiry Date July 13, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Non-Oatmeal Stuff, Recipes.
trackback

I had about 1.5 cups of milk left that expires at the end of today! So I decided to bake stuff :D

baking-jul13_08
Egg muffins and spiced flax bread

I’ve been meaning to make these muffins for a while now, and today I guess I finally have motivation to make them! :D I put chickpeas, spinach, and parmesan in them and snacked on one as I was taking pictures–it was really good! I was worried it would be all lumpy ’cause the pre-bake mixture was really liquidy–but they came out fine! I was very relieved.

And whoohoo–the bread came out great! A little flat though, so I cut thicker slices to compensate :D

I only had a small bite, but it was chewy and I could actually taste the spices I added! And you have no idea how tempted I was to add oats! But I didn’t want to throw too much stuff into the bread–maybe next time? :-P

flaxbread-jul13_08

Spiced Flax Bread
Makes 9 thick slices

1 cup flour
1 tbsp ground flax
2 tsp cinnamon
0.75 tsp ground ginger
2 tsp baking powder
0.5 tsp baking soda
2 tbsp applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
0.25 cup + 2 tbsp milk/soy milk
1 tsp brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350 F.
Mix all ingredients together [or you can mix the wet and dry ingredients separately then combine them–I’m just too lazy to wash two bowls :-P ]
Bake for 17-20 minutes.

For those of you counting calories:
Nutrition info
[per 1 slice]: 65 kcal, 0g fat, 13g carbohydrate, 1g fiber, 2g protein

Hmm…maybe I will bake another loaf with oatmeal and maybe another tablespoon of flax…the fiber count came out lower than I expected :|

Anyway! Got some catching up on meal pictures to do:

Yesterday’s lunch & dinner:

lunch-jul12_08

My english muffin! Sliced in half, toasted, and topped with ketchup, 4 slices of cucumber, and half a slice of cheddar cheese. On the side I had half a medium banana and a nectarine! Lunch was great, but really small :(

dinner-jul12_08

Vegetable soup again–olive oil, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, mushrooms, soft tofu, frozen mixed veggies, sunflower seeds, chicken broth. On the side–2 slices of cucumbers, half a raw red pepper, and blueberries.

Today I had the same thing for lunch, so moving on to dinner!

dinner-jul13_08

Chunky potato & barley soup–potatoes [duh], barley [duh], frozen mixed veggies, corn, soft tofu, mushrooms, olive oil, chicken broth, Classico Tomato & Basil sauce. On the side–raw red peppers, blueberries and blackberries! And a cup of water. And now it’s time for bed!

Comments»

1. lindzakins921 - July 13, 2008

mmmm flax bread – yummy idea ;) can’t wait to see the next creation w/ the oats!

ps. i loved your blog post title :)

2. glidingcalm - July 13, 2008

that bread looks great! and I love your milk experiment with the oats!

3. Jenn - July 14, 2008

That bread looks awesome! And such thick slices, too – I’m all for that :) I will definitely be making that one soon!

4. Megan - July 14, 2008

I just stumbled upon your blog and I can’t wait to sit down tonight and read the archives. I absolutely love oatmeal and could eat it for every meal. I also enjoy mixing random foods together. I just started a blog and I put your link in my blog roll. Hope that is OK!!!!

http://megansmunchies.blogspot.com/

5. Sagan - July 14, 2008

Your baking looks yummy; thanks for the recipe!

6. Kristie - July 14, 2008

I definitely want to give that bread recipe a try! I love bread. Of all kinds. And that sounds like it’d be pretty darn great and relatively simple too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

