jump to navigation

Oatmeal #134: Rollin’ the Pizza December 15, 2009

Posted by oatmeal in Lunch, Recipes.
Tags: ,
trackback

Today’s lunch:

Pizza on homemade pizza dough–with oatmeal–because that’s how I roll :D And I roll good dough, yo.

The bread turned out pretty thick ’cause I added too much water and so it was hard to roll the dough as flat as I wanted. Otherwise I would have had more surface area to play with while making pizza!

I’ve been smellin’ pizza every week when I go grocery shopping and I couldn’t take it any more!

Pizza dough – makes 3 thick pieces
1.25 cups ww flour
0.25 cup quick oats [I used 2 tbsp pancake mix in this ’cause I was curious what it’d be like–made no difference]
enough water to make a dough–0.5 cup – 0.67 cup?
0.25 tsp salt
0.75 tsp EVOO
0.75 tsp brown sugar
1 tsp yeast

Mix and let sit 2 hours.
Knead dough on floured surface after 2 hours and shape into balls. Place onto baking pans or whatever you want [I used aluminum foil] Roll them out however thick you want. Cover and let sit for 1 hour.
Preheat oven to 350F.
Bake for 7 mins.

I was gonna add pepper and oregano to the dough but I forgot! And when I remembered–I didn’t feel like walking all the way to the kitchen :-P

Don’t know if I can call this “oatmeal” experimenting ’cause there’s only 0.25 cup of oats in there, but I don’t have the funds for gluten free baking and… don’t tell me what to call my pizza! You don’t know me!

I also had a salad on the side:

It’s just the extended version of my pizza topping :D Coleslaw & frozen mixed veg.
And that’s oregano, parsley, and pepper sprinkled on the side. Pepper has become my new favorite condiment/spice–it gives vegetables so much flavor, and the smell reminds me of spicy butter! I’m so tempted to add it to my banana oatmeal. That’s how much I love it.

Final shot:

I think watching Iron Chef America has brought out the inner food stylist in me. They need to do a battle with oatmeal–and I bet someone will make oatmeal ice cream–they use the ice cream maker for the strangest things on that show! I think they made veal sorbet or something like that once?! Mind-blowing.

1 exam down, 1 more to go next Monday!
6 days til I get to go home!

Comments»

1. Shannon (The Daily Balance) - December 15, 2009

New to your blog and just wanted to tell you your photos are BEAUTIFUL! I look forward to reading more posts! ;)

2. Katie - December 15, 2009

Great looking pizza!

New SAHALE SNACKS giveaway, music, food + fitness – http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/2009/12/sahale-snacks-giveaway-slim-secrets.html

Happy TUESDAY!

Katie

3. Ying - December 19, 2009

Good job psyc buddy! I love your photos.

4. Jenny - December 22, 2009

Ooooo looks so yummy. I’ma have to try something like this myself and see how it turns out.

5. luckytastebuds - December 22, 2009

what a brilliant pizza dough recipe!!! i love oats too and didn’t think they could go in a dough!! I have to admit though…i’m afraid of yeast…hahah :P

6. healthyeather - December 30, 2009

Amazing photos! Very clear, and I love the shots you took. You absolutely made your meal very tempting!!

7. Sam - December 31, 2009

just discovered your blog. I’m loving it already!

i too have become addicted to pepper. I’ve been putting it on everything lately, popcorn, salads, oatmeal i even, made up some delicious lemon black tea with black pepper and orange zest, so freaking good!!!

I’ve been thinking about pizza an awful lot myself, but of course it has to have fiber so i think i’m gonna cop a feel of your recipe, hehe

oatmeal - January 1, 2010

Pepper with tea?! I’ve GOT to try this!

And thanks for visiting :D

8. feerlessfood - January 6, 2010

I made a dinner just like this tonight, but I tried a weird idea of using brown rice crisped in the oven as we crust haha. Hope your all exams went well and you’re having a great break! Enjoy it..I miss it

oatmeal - January 7, 2010

Really? That sounds like a great idea! How did you prepare it? I’d love to give it a try!

9. Sam - January 17, 2010

today i finally settled my pizza craving! i put everything together and it looked awesome, but sadly my dough didn’t rise (i think i scalded my yeast when i proofed it) but whatever it still was super tasty and i scarfed it down!

10. Emily - January 24, 2010

Iron Chef will totally do that to ya! haha LOVE the looks of that doughy pizza! :D

11. Jul - February 15, 2010

This looks AMAZING. I’ve never made pizza dough before, but this will be the recipe I use when I get around to giving it a shot!

And just have to say – your photos and blog are absolutely gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

