jump to navigation

Is it a cookie? Or an ugly muffin? February 21, 2010

Posted by oatmeal in Non-Oatmeal Stuff, Recipes, Snack.
trackback

I dunno–what do you think?

They look like cookies but soft like muffins? But who cares ’cause I like the way they taste :-P I haven’t baked in a while so this was fun!

Check out my festive photo decorations:

Why do I keep coming up with festive things once Christmas is over?! What the hell, brain?!

But anyway isn’t it exciting that I’m updating? :D Too bad I couldn’t even get oatmeal into this post either!

Anyway, I got the recipe from Susan V but I don’t have balsamic vinegar or anything so it’s just regular chocolate cookies–but with ginger–exciting huh? :mrgreen:

My version:

Spicy Cocoa Cookies [?] – 11 to 12 cookies
1 cup whole wheat flour
0.5 tsp baking soda
0.5 tsp baking powder
1.5 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp fruit jam of some flavor [too lazy to look it up...wildberry?] or more sugar
1 tbsp cocoa powder
0.25 cup brown sugar
0.33 cup water or milk/soymilk
1 tsp ground ginger [optional]

1. Mix all together–I never really got into the “add wet into dry ingredients” thing–I am a rebel!
2. Preheat oven to 350F.
3. Spoon batter onto baking sheet/pan/etc. Make them as thick or thin as you like–make ‘em thinner if you want a more biscuit texture
4. Bake for 10-11 minutes.

Next time I’ll definitely add some oats in place of some of the flour because I’ve been neglecting the mission statement of this blog. And because life without oats is an empty and fiber-less life.

I can’t stop taking pictures:

Yay for Reading Week huh? Maybe I’ll actually get around to blogging more!

Comments»

1. Samantha - February 21, 2010

oooo, i LOVE fatfreevegan! I made the fat free ones to give as holiday gifts actually, AND i made them with oats! You should really try it with balsamic vinegar, Susan V is a genius for coming up with these, they’re so fudgy and delicious.

Anyway, i love your addition of ginger, very nice! And as a side note, if you want to add more lift to whole wheat cookies, or any type of whole wheat baked good with baking soda in it, add apple cider vinegar (you can add any type of vinegar but apple cider tastes the best) to the batter and like a science experiment it will start to bubble and make the cookies puff up nice and big! I don’t know if you have that problem with your whole wheat baked goods but i always have lift problems with mine, but it really does help quite a bit.

2. Shannon (The Daily Balance) - February 23, 2010

these look fantastic! thanks so much for sharing the recipe ;)

3. Simply Life - February 23, 2010

ha, not sure but it looks great!

4. lola - March 7, 2010

these look really good! i like the idea of muffin cookies =)

5. Sook @ My Fabulous Recipes - March 8, 2010

ha ha they actually look very appetizing! Your presentation is just so beautiful.

6. Can You Stay for Dinner - April 4, 2010

Oh these look positively delicious! I love the soft texture! And I must commend you on your incredible photography. All of the pictures on your blog are so clear, vibrant, and beautifully styled! Girl after my own heart!!

7. J - October 15, 2010

These look great, dark and yummy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

