jump to navigation

Non-Oatmeal Stuff #2: Brownies April 18, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Dessert, Non-Oatmeal Stuff, Snack.
trackback

Attempt at raw brownies?!! Although I totally slaughtered the “rawness” of this recipe since I didn’t follow the ingredients list exactly…[damn Kingston and its limited resources!]
Oh, and I don’t have a food processor, so I chopped up everything myself…x_X I’m either very perseverant or just a tad OCD…it took me about…an hour and fifteen minutes? Maybe a little more? I wish I had a food processor…

Anyway, the batch is in the freezer right now…not sure how it’s going to turn out…I soaked the walnuts and dates overnight ’cause I thought it might be easier to chop this way–WRONG. I might have accidentally soaked some of the flavor away 😦


Are these even the right kind of dates to use??

I also substituted cocoa for raw carob [don’t think the markets have them where I live…], and I put in dried dates [I don’t even know if it’s the right kind…X_x], honey, and also a bit of jam ’cause when I tasted it, it was kinda bitter and not sweet enough. The taste also reminded me of coconut shavings..which I don’t really like…uh…maybe it’ll be different once it’s all frozen up? If it doesn’t work out I guess I could always put it in with ice cream or yogurt or something :p

Comments»

1. Romina - April 18, 2008

I made these once too, but they failed. =( So I just added a bit of water and turned them into “brownie balls” and they held together nicely!

2. VeggieGirl - April 18, 2008

No no no – you MUST use fresh, medjool dates!!! Dried dates are useless (and much less flavorful – the fresh ones are similar to gooey caramel!!).

I made raw brownies a while back, and they turned out perfectly – here’s my post about it, with a link to the recipe (scroll down to second-half of post):

http://veggiegirlvegan.blogspot.com/2008/02/sweetest-way-to-begin-my-spring.html

3. happyherbivore - April 22, 2008

you must make raw brownies with oats!

or at least try this – i have everyone addicted

1 cup oats
1/2 cup pb
1/2 cup maple
1/4 cup cocoa

4. oatmeal - April 22, 2008

Haha you read my mind! I’m trying a new batch with oats after I finish eating the one I have right now~ XD

And that recipe sounds excellent! oats, peanut butter, AND chocolate? It definitely sounds addictive. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

