jump to navigation

Experiment #7 April 20, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Lunch.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback


I wish the caf had more colorful fruits…
Consists of:

  • 1/2 ring of canned pineapple
  • 1 tsp strawberry jam
  • 0.125 cup Cheerios
  • 0.125 cup Kashi GoLean cereal
  • cafeteria oatmeal

Had this yesterday!
Not much to say about this one–it’s a rather boring combo, in my opinon…but the cafeteria has boring food :p I do like jam&fruits in oatmeal though! Oatmeal tastes great when it’s only a little sweet, but not too sweet as to completely overwhelm the flavor. And the cereal provides a crunchy factor, which is nice 🙂

Oh, and guess what I had as a part of my breakfast yesterday:


Le brownie!

Definitely wasn’t sweet enough by itself, so I kinda chopped up a banana and ate it with the brownie. It’s not bad! Way better than adding some more sugar. I think next time I’m going to use banana when I make this, instead of the dried dates, which apparently, wasn’t even the right kind of dates to use! [thanks, VeggieGirl! :)] That’s too bad, ’cause I still have a whole bag of dried dates lying around T__T

Heh, and something really stupid happened to me yesterday. At around 2: 00 I burst into my exam hall and was all “LET THERE BE EXAM WRITINGZZZ!” and nearly freaked when I saw that there was no room assignment for the exam I’m supposed to be writing..x_X So I frantically ran around asking the proctors and eventually found out that I was at the right place for my exam….except the exam wasn’t until 7: 00 p.m.. -.-” You can imagine how smart I felt then

Going insane! But only 2 more exams to write on Monday and Wednesday, and then it’s baking & cooking everyday! I have a million ideas I’ve been dying to try. In fact, I’m going grocery shopping [tons and tons of oats!] after my last exam this Wednesday. I’ll hopefully be posting some oatmeal recipes soon!

Comments»

1. Romina - April 20, 2008

The caf may have boring food, but you make it interesting!

Good luck on your exams!! I can’t wait to bake/cook either once mine are done! What school do you attend if you don’t mind me asking?

2. VeggieGirl - April 20, 2008

I love how you’re able to just work with the ingredients that are available in the cafeteria, and STILL make innovative oatmeal dishes!! Not boring at all!!

The brownie looks great with the banana-addition!! Definitely get those fresh, “caramel-like” medjool dates, girl!! Try the recipe again, for sure :0)

Oh my goodness, I’m so sorry about the exam mix-up; but thankfully you WERE in the right place after all, haha – phew!

Best of luck on your 2 remaining exams, and on creating more tantalizing oatmeal varieties!! :0)

3. ChocolateCoveredVegan - April 20, 2008

hehehe we are two peas in a pod; I can finish off a whole jar of pb in a week too—the stuff is just so good :o).

brownies for breakfast? Ok, you are awesome!

4. Jill - April 27, 2008

Ugh, I liked in the dorm last year and it sucked. I seriously ate my weight in oatmeal every morning and then scrounged anything else they had. I love your oatmeal experiment page! It is great.


Leave a Reply

