jump to navigation

Experiment #12: Creamy Macaroni April 29, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Dinner, Recipes.
Tags: ,
trackback

Had this on Sunday–second non-cafeteria meal!
I didn’t really know how it was going to taste when I made this, but turned out awesome. I actually meant to make mac n’ cheese, but it didn’t come out looking like mac n cheese so I’m going to call it “alfredo sauce” instead 😛

The sauce tasted just right, but unfortunately I don’t think I made enough sauce…either that or it was too liquidy–’cause when I mixed the sauce in with the pasta, I couldn’t really taste it. So next time I think I’m going to add a bit of parmesean [maybe 0.5 tsp?] to give it even more flavour.


Recipe–if anyone’s curious. Makes for an interesting cooking experience, that’s for sure XD
Makes 1 serving.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp rolled oats, ground into powder
  • 0.25 tsp chopped garlic
  • 2 tbsp plain yogurt
  • 1 tbsp soymilk
  • 0.5 slice cheddar cheese [or 2 tsp nutritional yeast–for you vegans]
  • 0.25 tsp oregano leaves
  • 0.5 cup uncooked whole wheat pasta

Boil pasta. Then drain and set it aside.
In a small bowl, mix oats and oregano leaves together
Add 1 tbsp water to a saucepan and wait til it bubbles, then add garlic. Let it sit there for a minute or so.
Add the oats mixture.
Add the soymilk and cheese.
Stir the sauce for about 30 seconds.
Switch to low heat and fold in the yogurt. Stir for another 30 seconds, or for as long as you like.

Um yeah! And the sauce doesn’t taste weir or funny at all~it just looks a bit chunky ’cause of the oatmeal 😀 But it didn’t taste any more different than regular cream sauce, at least, to me it didn’t 😛

Oh, and here’s what I had for dinner yesterday~

Added too little water to the rice so had to cook it twice…-sigh- But it tasted awesome 😀 Next time I’m going to add more vegetables, ’cause I wasn’t full 😦

Comments»

1. happyherbivore - April 29, 2008

what an interesting idea to use oats to make “cheese” !!

http://happyherbivore.com/oil

re: coconut oil

2. VeggieGirl - April 29, 2008

oooh, how fun using oatmeal to make “alfredo”-type sauce!! GREAT experiment!!

yes, definitely “pump up” the vegetables in that other dish, and it’ll fill you up :0)

3. Romina - April 29, 2008

Hooray for non-cafeteria meals!
Your macaroni looks so good. I love how you made it guilt-free with the veggies. Gotta have your veggies!


Leave a Reply

