jump to navigation

Experiment #13&14: Strawberry Buns & Brownies May 1, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Recipes, Snack.
Tags: ,
trackback

Today’s post is a two-in-one special! XD

I attempted to do something with the strawberries in my fridge today…

Before baking:

I made a huge mess XD

During the baking, I did an experiment within an experiment using the leftover strawberry-oatmeal filling!

Brownie [from yesterday] + strawberry oatmeal. I ate them together–using the strawberry oatmeal as topping–best thing I’ve ever tasted! [Yes, I’m aware the bowl looks pretty gross in that picture :-P]

After baking:

I was kinda horrified when I took them out of the oven ’cause I thought I burnt them…8O But I think that’s just the coloring of the strawberries staining the surrounding areas?? I have no clue. I definitely added too much flour…’cause they’re so white! They’d probably look less scary if the dough was at least a golden-ish color 😛

Nonetheless–they tasted great!

Recipe! – the amount of flour has been adjusted.
Makes 10 servings. 77 kcal each

  • 1.5 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 0.25 cup plain yogurt
  • 0.25 cup soymilk
  • 0.5 tbsp applesauce
  • 0.5 small mashed banana
  • 1 cup flour
  • 0.5 cup Kellogg’s All-Bran Original cereal [optional]

Filling

  • 7 medium-size or small strawberries, mashed
  • 0.25 cup quick oats

1. Mix all wet ingredients together in a bowl, leave out the lemon juice.
2. In another bowl, mix the flour and bran cereal together, chop up the cereal a bit.
3. Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix together.
4. Preheat oven to 350F.
5. Line a baking tray with parchment paper or baking mat.
6. With a wooden spoon, scoop 10 separate spoonfuls of the batter and drop them onto the tray.
7. Mix the mashed strawberries and oats together and use a spoon or your fingers to drop the filling onto the scoops of batter. Press downwards gently as you apply the filling so that they’ll stick to the flour.
8. Bake for 20 minutes.

Comments»

1. Romina - May 1, 2008

Oh my goodness, those are adorable!! You have such a great imagination. =)

2. VeggieGirl - May 1, 2008

Brownie & strawberry oatmeal, AND the strawberry buns, look fabulous!!

3. ChocolateCoveredVegan - May 1, 2008

Haha an experiment times 2! You are too cute!


Leave a Reply

