jump to navigation

Experiment #15: Chocolate Zucchini Bread Rolls May 3, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Recipes, Snack.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This has got to be the prettiest thing I’ve ever baked. I love the color of zucchini!

I was originally planning on just making zucchini bread, but while mixing the dough, it came out less moist than expected [’cause so far all my baking doughs came out really moist!] so I decided to break off a chunk and play with it a little! So I ended up making two rolls and a block of bread. 😀

heheh

The bread came out crunchy on the outside, chewy and soft on the inside–awesome! And the chocolate-cinnamon mixture I had in the rolls added an extra zing to it. Oh my goodness I want to devour the whole entire box right now!

And I accidentally figured out how to work the close-up function on my ghetto digital camera yesterday while snapping pictures of my dinner:

I should make more veggie desserts! They’re so prettyful~

Recipe time!
Makes 9-10 slices of bread [or 15-20 rolls, depending on size]

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp applesauce
  • 1 small mashed banana
  • 2 tbsp soymilk
  • 1 tbsp water added to 1 tbsp of cornstarch
  • 1.5 cup whole wheat flour
  • 0.5 cup oats
  • 0.5 cup Kellogg’s All-Bran Original [optional–I have a whole box of this stuff so I need to use it :-P]
  • 0.5 cup chopped zucchini [add more if you want!]
  • 0.75 tsp baking soda
  • 0.25 tsp baking powder
  • 0.5 tsp cinnamon
  • any amount of unsweetened cocoa or melted dark chocolate [depends on how chocolatey you like things to be!]

Instructures for the Bread
1. Preheat oven to 350F
2. Mix wet ingredients in one bowl, dry ingredients in another [you can add the cocoa now or leave it aside if you want to make the rolls or sprinkle it on top of the loaf!]
3. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix together til you have dough.
4. Line a baking tray or bread pan with parchment paper/baking mat, place the dough in.
5. Bake for 20-25 minutes. [depends on how moist&dough-y you like your bread! :-)]

Instructions for the Rolls
1. Do steps 1-3 listed above. Leave out the cocoa
2. Roll your dough til it’s about 0.25-0.5 inches thick.
3. Sprinkle the cocoa evenly all over the dough.
4. Add small pinches of cinnamon or small amounts of sweetener of your choice
5. Roll the dough up and chop it carefully into blocks.
6. Do steps 4-5 listed above.

Comments»

1. Romina - May 3, 2008

You are so creative! I don’t think anyone would have thought of this. And I love how you manage to incorporate all bran into it (which I’m addicted to). Deliious!

2. bikergurl125 - May 3, 2008

ooh, pretty! looks really good!

3. VeggieGirl - May 3, 2008

Love it, love it, love it!! Chocolate-Zucchini bread rolls sound like the perfect treat. Yum!

4. hk - May 3, 2008

interesting, looks GOOD!

5. Rika - May 3, 2008

that looks yummy! good job!

6. Jill - May 3, 2008

HAha, this is such a cool idea! Mmmmmmmm, oatmealishious!

7. ChocolateCoveredVegan - May 3, 2008

haha, you are right; volunteering as a dog-walker IS a workout in itself. The big dogs end up walking me!

Wow, you are seriously creative! I want to try this roll!

8. Rika - June 24, 2008

hello! i tried making this today and i loved the texture! but i have a question about making them into rolls… how?

do you first bake it into strips and then roll them up
or cut it when its raw into strips, roll it and then bake?

i tried rolling it up when it was raw.. and i failed :< it turned into one log like glob..and not a roll.. and then i cut it ;o

thank you!

9. oatmeal - June 25, 2008

Hey Rika,

I made the rolls by cuttig them into strips first, then bake 😀 And don’t worry–it took a few tries for me before I got them into rolls as well! XD Good luck!


Leave a Reply

