jump to navigation

Experiment #17: Sweet Potatoes May 8, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I bought a sweet potato the week before and still haven’t used it [I wanted to save it for something…but I have no idea what that “something” was..] so I decided to have it with breakfast this morning:


Sweet potatoes, blueberries, soymilk, cinnamon, ground ginger, and a little brown sugar

I should definitely add more sugar next time…and maybe boil the potatoes longer so it’s softer~sweet potatoes just doesn’t taste right when it’s 0.75% raw. But anyway! The bowl smelled so good I spent about half an hour sniffing it before actually eating 😛

As good as it was, not enough to fill me up 😦 But I didn’t have a cup of coffee this morning, so maybe that was why I also ended up having 2[!] slices of this:


Commence drooling!

Whole wheat green tea cake. Mom baked it yesterday [I helped! :D]–we used my bag of whole wheat flour, mom was skeptical, but after she tasted it she thought it was alright! I think I’m well on my way to converting her to my whole wheat ways XD

The cake was more moist than expected, but I like moist and doughy baked stuff so I was happy 😛

Heheh having mom around sure made meals more exciting–’cause I usually just boil stuff, add vinegar or parmesan, and eat. 😛 I took pictures of the meals~but I think I’ll probably post everything in another entry or this one’ll be too long!

Comments»

1. Romina - May 8, 2008

Oh my gosh!! Sweet potatoes for breakfast sound amazing!!

I do that all the time. I always buy something intending to make something I had imagined at some point, then completely forget! Then it all goes bad.

Green tea cake?? My goodness your mom is cool!! I totally agree about mothers. They just know what to do.

2. happyherbivore - May 8, 2008

i love sweet potatoes!

3. VeggieGirl - May 8, 2008

Sweet potatoes for breakfast… interesting!! Love your experiments, as always!! Sorry that it didn’t fill you up though :0(

Whole-wheat green tea cake – now THAT’S divine!! Yes, moms are great :0)

4. glidingcalm - May 8, 2008

wow green tea cake…neato! and boy it DOES look moist!!

is there oatmeal in with your sweet potatoes too? I adore sweet potatoes, but never thought to mix them with berries! cool idea!

5. slayedoll - May 8, 2008

i love love sweet potatoes too! (:

but with blueberries i guess its abit weird? maybe you could mash it up and add it in next time :p.. and yes more brown sugar! its a good combi! (:

have you tried those japanese sweet potatoes? they are so wonderful! mildy sweet with a hint of chestnut mmm..

6. ChocolateCoveredVegan - May 8, 2008

Haha I KNEW that you of all people would appreciate my breakfast recipe. I love all of YOUR creative ideas!

Can I add you to my blogroll?

7. Danielle - May 9, 2008

Hm, a sweet potato… interesting addition. I’m always up for something new! ha

8. ChocolateCoveredVegan - May 9, 2008

Aww, thanks fo adding me… and I’ve added you as well :o)

9. Tofufreak - May 11, 2008

green tea!!! whole wheat!!!! yum ^_^

10. happyherbivore - May 13, 2008

what a great idea! you are so daring and it comes out so well… i love sweet potatoes… what a great way to get them into my breakfast!


Leave a Reply

