jump to navigation

Non-Oatmeal Stuff #5: Mom’s Day May 11, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Non-Oatmeal Stuff.
trackback

Was good!
Got up at 5: 30 a.m. to eat breakfast and bake a surprise cake and finish coloring the card

Before baking:


blueberries&cocoa

20 minutes later:


“marble” cake! πŸ˜€

Some of the cake stuck to the red plastic thing–which gave me an excuse to grab a few bites XD

The day before yesterday my mom and I tried Cambodian food for the first time–we had leftovers, so I finished it off today for lunch:


Lemon grass beef, green chilies, red&green pepper, jasmine&normal white rice

Was good! Very flavorful, although a little too salty and oily. I accidentally bite into one of the chillies D: I’m not hardcore enough for spicy foods~

After lab, I took my mom to Wooden Heads for dinner–gourmet pizza!

What I ordered:

Tomato sauce, sun-dried tomatoes, mozzarella, marinated mushrooms, artichokes

That’s my mom pretending to dig in XD

What she ordered:


tomato sauce, mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, mozzarella, lemon chicken

I’m not really much of a pizza fan–but this restaurant makes really good pizzas! The crust wasn’t too thick, and was hot and crsipy, well seasoned toppings, not boring at all. I was really hungry, so I ate the whole pizza πŸ˜› [minus a bit of the crust–got too full near the end]

I did another oatmeal “experiment” this morning as well–but I’ll save it for another post tomorrow! XD

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 11, 2008

Wow, you’re quite an artist – that card is beautiful!!! And you did a fabulous job on the marble cake as well!!

Looks like you had a nice pizza dinner with your mom on Mother’s Day – lovely!

2. Romina - May 11, 2008

You are such a sweet daughter! That card and that cake… so sweet of you. =) And they’re both gorgeous.

3. ChocolateCoveredVegan - May 11, 2008

Wow! You drew that?! So you’re a great cook AND artist! Some people have all the luck!

The cake is too cute!

4. Jenn - May 11, 2008

That is such a pretty card and the cake looks delicious – what a nice treat for your mom!

That pizza = needs to be in my mouth right now πŸ˜‰

5. Melissa - May 12, 2008

That cake might be the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!

P.S. I’m jealous that you normally aren’t a pizza fan! How does that happen???? I WISH I didn’t like pizza!

6. Kristie - May 12, 2008

Loving the card! And the cake, how cute.

That pizza looks super delicious, mmmm. Much better than the standard greasy grab-and-go pizza places!

7. glidingcalm - May 12, 2008

yummy pizzaaaaaa! way to go for eating the whole thing. I like the way you consume.

8. MizFit - May 15, 2008

LOVE THAT MARBLE CAKE!


Leave a Reply

