jump to navigation

Experiment #20: pumpkin May 15, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I finally tried the pumpkin-oatmeal combo on Monday:


pumpkin, cinnamon, ground ginger, bean brownies, corn

The oatmeal looks like mashed potatoes ’cause I was in a hurry to get to the lab [at 7 a.m.! Hence the reason I packed my breakfast in a box~] so I microwaved :p Ended up not adding a lot of water–it was enough, but less than the amount I usually add.
But yeah–chocolate & pumpkin definitely go well together! The pumpkin has a very refreshing taste and took my attention away the slightly out-of-place flavor of the black beans [I ditched the chickpeas–much better!]–guess bean brownies take a bit of getting used to πŸ˜› And notice that I have corn with my oatmeal again! I’m addicted~

Lunch!

whole wheat tortilla, cheddar cheese, chicken breast

Here’s the rest of my lunch–packed in a yogurt container ’cause it’s fun πŸ˜€

tortilla, gala apple, baby carrots, grape tomatoes

I ended up eating the apple after I ate my oatmeal breakfast…and started snacking on the tomatoes & carrots at 10 to 10: 30 ish~since the tortilla obviously wouldn’t be enough to get me through til dinner time [I didn’t have time to pack a snack! :(], I rushed home for about 2 minutes to grab a mug of coffee to bring to the lab~guess I need to pack a lot more next time!

Got home that day at around6: 30 p.m.–that’s 11.5 hours in a place with no windows! Was rather tired and grumpy at that point, but then mom made soup:


mashed potatoes, mushrooms, pork[?]

It was GOOD. Don’t remember what else I had for dinner that day ’cause didn’t take pictures πŸ˜›

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 15, 2008

Wow, I LOVE the pumpkin, cinnamon, ground ginger, bean brownie, corn combination – so fun!! Definitely experimental!!

Yikes, you sure have long days – when are you out for summer?

2. Romina - May 15, 2008

You by far have the most interesting oatmeal combos! I love it!

3. oatmeal - May 15, 2008

VeggieGirl – I’m actually already on summer break~but I have a summer job at my school’s neuroscience lab~so I guess technically my vacation begins mid-August! πŸ˜€

4. Jenn - May 15, 2008

Wow, that is quite the combo! I have yet to try oatmeal and corn — I think I would have to do it for dinner, but it sounds like it would be good! πŸ™‚

5. linds - May 16, 2008

Oh wow- corn in your oatmeal!!! I’ve never tried an oatmeal combo that isn’t all sweet, your variations are definitely intriguing..

6. ChocolateCoveredVegan - May 16, 2008

Gosh, I’m going to have to try corn with my oatmeal. Kudos to you for trying something so different… sometimes the weirdest-sounding experiments turn out deliciously well!


Leave a Reply

