jump to navigation

Experiment #21: Ratios May 17, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Recipes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I made baked oatmeal pancakes with apples & blackberries on Tuesday:

And I decided to toy with the relative amounts of flour-oatmeal in the pancakes! That pretty much resulted in spending at least an hour preparing the 4 batters, but it was interesting πŸ˜€ And it gave me a chance to use up the apples that have been lying around!

Bottom left: 100% oatmeal
Middle: 50% oatmeal, 50% whole wheat flour
Bottom right: 75% oatmeal, 25% whole wheat flour
Top left: 25% oatmeal, 75% whole wheat flour

From the appearance, the more oatmeal there was, the more grainy the pancake was. As far as taste, I could kinda taste the subtle difference between the 100% oatmeal pancake and the 25% oatmeal pancake~but otherwise I couldn’t really tell which was which. I wish I hadn’t gotten lazy and made a pancake with 100% flour! Maybe next time…

Recipe! – makes 1 large pancake
Ingredients

  • blackberries – as much as you want [I used 2 per pancake and cut them up]
  • apples, chopped – as much as you want [I used about 0.125 cup]
  • 0.5 tsp baking powder
  • 0.5 tsp corn starch
  • 0.25 cup quick oats [or 0.25 cup flour]
  • 0.25 cup Kellogg’s All-Bran Original [optional]
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp applesauce
  • 0.25 tsp cinnamon [optional]

1. Preheat oven to 375F
2. Mix dry ingredients in one bowl, wet ingredients in another.
3. Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix.
4. Scoop batter onto baking tray and bake for 20 minutes. You can also pour the batter into a pan and cook them like normal pancakes

Comments»

1. Romina - May 17, 2008

Ooh baked pancakes! That’s really smart! I love all the ingredients in there, no guilt with these pancakes! (I especially love the All-bran but I’m sure I’ve said that 100 times)

2. VeggieGirl - May 17, 2008

Great move, using the apples & blackberries combination for the baked oatmeal pancakes – yum!! Again, I’m loving all your experiments :0)

3. lindzakins921 - May 17, 2008

mmmmm! what a fantastic combination πŸ™‚ you are awesome at experimentation!

4. Syn - May 18, 2008

WOAH THOSE LOOK BEAUTIFUL!!!!!! congrats on the aweosme experiment!!! ( I will be trying this tomorrow!!!)

5. thypasserby - August 2, 2009

your creativity overflows and keeps me so entertained! love this blog πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

