jump to navigation

Experiment #22: Bread – Part I May 19, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Recipes.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I still have a ton of white bread & whole wheat tortillas left from last week because 1. mom was here so there was no need for sandwiches 2. mom doesn’t like whole wheat bread so we bought white bread 3. The only time I eat bread is when I make sandwiches.

So on Friday morning I decided to tackle the huge stash of bread. I also had an apple that I needed to eat before it dies so I threw that in as well. Leftovers stresses me out so you can imagine how awesome this was. This just proves that oatmeal is better than therapy.


Bread, walnuts, blackberries, apples, blueberries

Wow, I never knew how much I did not like walnuts until I had it with oatmeal. Maybe it was ’cause all those other times I had it, the taste was masked by 1. veggies 2. cocoa & sugar 3. something else. But whoa talk about a revelation! Oatmeal brings joy and enlightenment! But yeah other than the walnuts, it was good…I covered the taste with apples and other stuff–so I still had a great breakfast. 😀

Although I’m once again motherless [ tears! 😥 ], I still have some of the leftover fried rice my mom made, and since I have a huge stack of whole wheat tortillas, I decided to rip it up and throw it into the rice 😛


chicken, carrots, beans, corn, mushrooms

I had this yesterday along with the sweet bean soup my mom made [officially my new favorite food]–I didn’t microwave it ’cause I like it better cold and ’cause I’m too lazy 😀 But that was a very filling dinner!
Oh, the drink on the left consists of dried dates, goji berries/fructus lycii, and dried longans in boiled water–it was GOOD, and so nice to look at!

And some of you wondered what coffee sauce was in my last entry–I got the idea from here, but modified it:

3 tbsp brown sugar [vary this amount according to how much of a sweet tooth you have]
0.25 tsp cornstarch
1.5 tbsp hot water
1 tbsp instant coffee powder [I used a mix of Colombian & French Vanilla]

Combine brown sugar and water. Stir til syrupy, then add cornstarch and coffee powder. I was too lazy to cook it so I just microwaved 😛 This makes a quarter of a cup.

Comments»

1. linds - May 19, 2008

haha I love your creativity!! I don’t think I would ever have tried bread in oatmeal…very interesting… And yes you should be on the lookout for danone’s coffee yogurt, it will blow your mind 🙂 so good!

2. VeggieGirl - May 19, 2008

Bread?? In oatmeal?? You’re so innovative, it’s mind-blowing. LOVE the combinations, as always!!

3. Romina - May 19, 2008

That’s such a neat way to use bread!! Way to go!! Have you thought of french toast?

4. lindzakins921 - May 20, 2008

lol ~ oatmeal IS definitely better than therapy… that is so true 😉


Leave a Reply

