jump to navigation

Experiment #24: Bread – Part II May 21, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

More ugly but tasty food!


cherries, blackberries, pumpkin, bread, brown sugar

Had this on Sunday.
It took forever to take the seeds out of the cherries…but I had to do it before putting it into the oatmeal or else it’ll take forever to eat just a bite and that would have been worse! But I think I’ve discovered another natural sweetener for my future oatmeal & dessert adventures~exciting!

On another note, I’m still trying to tackle my stash of leftovers! So on Monday I made veggie patties:


Lettuce, chickpeas, onions, green pepper, garlic, Kellogg’s All-Bran Original & bread [ROFL]

Hahaha I can’t believe I put cereal in there~but I remember what my mom taught me about adding sugar for seasoning and I thought–why not? It tasted alright, although I wouldn’t serve it to anyone πŸ˜› But at least I’m trying new things? πŸ˜†

I had a patty for dinner on Monday along with my other leftover veggies..x_X It was a lot of veggies…


Holy crap!

And I overestimated the flavors of the vegetables…so I added some Classico Red Wine&Herb pasta sauce:


Hurray for flavors!

Yeah~the veggies included bean sprouts, two kinds of lettuce [romaine and some other light colored one oO], green peppers [left over from the patties], kidney and romano beans. That doesn’t sound like a lot…but I was stuffed.

Oh, and those white bally stuff in the small bowl off to the side? Glutinous rice balls stuffed with pork & ginger–they are the BEST. Mom made a ton of these before she left–they’re my favorite things out of all my leftovers:


Dissected!

I still have a ton left–yay! But I should probably finish them before they go bad…roar–I hate it when I have to rush to finish food, although I do like that it forces me to be creative [maybe overly so…] but then it also feels like I’m forcing myself to eat certain foods 😦 Eating should be fun, dammit!

Comments»

1. Romina - May 21, 2008

Oh yum!! Those patties look great. And all-bran?? NEAT!

I hate having to finish food too. It takes the pleasure out of “eating what you crave”. Yuck.

2. VeggieGirl - May 21, 2008

Ahh, fresh cherries – I’ve been eating them everyday, like they’re going out of style, haha. Oh, you MUST invest in a cherry-pitter – I’m telling you, that thing is a LIFESAVER (since pitting cherries by hand is a bitch, haha).

What a fun idea, adding the all-bran cereal to the vegetable-patties!!

Yes, eating SHOULD be fun – ENJOY!!! :0)

3. Rika - May 21, 2008

why not freeze the leftovers then? πŸ™‚

4. lindzakins921 - May 22, 2008

You are amazing with your oatmeal combinations!

5. Kristie - May 22, 2008

Your oatmeal combos are always so crazy yet so much fun! I would never think to throw in half the stuff that you do. Do you ever end up making combinations though that you seriously DON’T like? Do you eat them anyway if that happens?

6. Jenn - May 22, 2008

I know what you mean about feeling rushed to eat certain foods – but it looks like you had some great meals and as always, some interesting combinations that I never would have thought of! I love reading about your “experiments” πŸ™‚

7. oatmeal - May 22, 2008

VeggieGirl
I agree! Pitting cherries by hand is a nightmare D: But I never knew cherry pitters existed–what a wonderful invention! XD

Rika
Yeah~I thought about that, although with the amount of leftovers I have my whole freezer would be overloaded with stuff :p

Kristie
So far I haven’t come up with a combo that I don’t like~but if I do…I imagine I’ll probably add a bunch of other stuff to try and cover up the flavor, since I hate the thought of dumping out any food!


Leave a Reply

