jump to navigation

Experiment #25: Apples & PB Tortilla May 22, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch.
Tags: , ,
trackback


I had lots of whole wheat tortilla leftover…

Had this on Monday.
I used 1/3 cup oats and it was just the right amount for 4 of these wraps–awesome!

Next time I’m going to wrap these with at least half a tortilla instead of dividing the thing into quarters…’cause there weren’t enough tortilla to go around the apple, pb, and oatmeal! I had enough time to eat the apple core and one of the wraps before rushing off to the lab [at 7 a.m.!] for about half an hour…but anyway I liked! Very filling~it’d make a great snack!

And now for some more of what I’ve been having besides oatmeal!


Coffee, yogurt&0.5 piece bread&blackberries, scrambled egg&lean ground beef&0.5 tomato& bread

Yes…this is what I do when I have leftovers–add them to everything I’m cooking–I’m lucky I have an adventurous palate! But the stuff usually come out tasting pretty good so it’s all good! πŸ˜€

For dinner that night I had more leftover veggies & rice balls:

The drink was my favorite part of the meal, ’cause it was a spur of the moment creation! I’m sure people who have been cooking a long time will be kinda surprised I’ve never tried it before…but anyway! After I finished boiling everything depicted in the picture above [except the veggie patty & pasta sauce, obviously!] I kept the leftover water [leftovers from leftovers! πŸ˜† ] and added a very tiny tiny bit of the chicken bouillon mom left for me–and thus a bowl of soup was born!

I had it in a cup ’cause I like eating out of cups πŸ˜€

And I’ve been holding off having more oatmeal experiments since I want to catch up with all the experiments I’ve already done before I add more! But now that I’m all caught up, I can starting a-mixin’ again! I’ve got two ideas I really want to try out–exciting!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 22, 2008

Now THAT is a delicious-looking wrap sandwich – great snack, indeed!

Can’t wait to see your newest experiments!! :0)

2. Romina - May 22, 2008

That is such a great idea!! Oatmeal in a tortilla, mmm, carbs = happy.

3. Jill - May 23, 2008

I adore bread and yogurt. You know what is even better? Toast with yogurt instead of butter/jam. DE-lish!

4. Kelly T - May 23, 2008

Holy whole grains.

Those wraps look really good: very creative

5. Kelly T - May 23, 2008

jill- i spread peanut butter on toast and top it with some plain yogurt and a little bit of syrup. Its like the poor-man’s waffles but it is soooo good

6. oatmeal - May 23, 2008

Jill
Ooo that DOES sound delicious! Must try that tomorrow morning!

Kelly T
Waffle-like toast?! Are you serious? Now I REALLY need to run and buy a bottle of maple syrup!

7. Jenn - May 24, 2008

You have found a way to combine two of my favorite things (oatmeal and bread/wraps)…nice work πŸ™‚

How exactly did that leftover leftover soup taste?

8. oatmeal - May 24, 2008

Jenn
Since I had quite a bit of bean sprouts in there–it tasted predominantly like bean sprouts :p But it had a subtle sweetness that may have come from the carrots? Adding the chicken bouillon enhanced the flavor of the soup quite a bit, made it a little saltier too–it was good! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

