jump to navigation

Experiment #29: Potatoes – Savory May 28, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Recipes.
Tags: , ,
trackback

😆 I was laughing the entire time I made this ’cause the idea sounds kinda gross–but the final product did not look or taste gross!


Like normal cream soup!

Except cream only makes up…0.5% of the whole thing 😛 The mashed potatoes and oats did all the work! I only added the cream ’cause I had a ton left over from mom’s visit and I don’t want to waste stuff!

Anyway–it’s strange but awesome! Wasn’t too salty and needed very little seasoning, I suspect it’s ’cause of the onions, ’cause I didn’t add salt or pepper or anything except for a few oregano leaves, and that’s more for garnish than anything else! And the oatmeal tasted like congee~yum~It smelled really good.

I’d totally have this again!

Recipe–for the adventurous ones XD
Makes one huge bowl–very filling!
Ingredients

  • 1 small white potato, cooked & mashed
  • 1 tbsp cream/milk/soymilk/butter [optional]
  • 0.25 cup oats, cooked
  • 0.25 cup chopped onions
  • any amount of veggies you like–I used carrots, zucchini, & beans–I forgot to add corn! How sad 😦
  • 1 tbsp ginger [optional]
  • 0.25 tsp chicken bouillon or salt
  • small pinch oregano leaves for garnish
  • 0.5 tsp sunflower seeds for garnish

1. Mix the cream with the mash potatoes in the bowl you’re having the soup in, set aside.
2. Microwave [for 1 minute] or cook the oats. I used 0.5 cup water for 0.25 cup oats.
3. Boil the onions & ginger for about 2 minutes.
4. Add in the veggies. Cook time depends on how cooked you want your veggies to be.
5. Add 0.25 cup of the water that you boiled the veggies in to the mashed potatoes. Stir, then add in the oats, chicken bouillon, and everything else.
6. Sprinkle in the sunflower seeds and oregano leaves, or any other seasoning you like.

And that was my dinner yesterday!

For lunch, I decided to start tackling the can of white tuna I had sitting around:

Made with frozen chopped spinach, broccoli and sprinkled parmesan cheese on top. Plus a buttered whole wheat toast on the side. Of course, that’s a reall small lunch, so I grabbed another piece of toast with jam…amazingly, I was still hungry, so I made dessert:


one large strawberry, cherries, and cinnamon on top of approximately 0.5 cup of plain 0% yogurt

That hit the spot! I was full and happy–like this: 😀

Finally, this morning I didn’t feel like baking anything so I had a nice, normal bowl of oatmeal:


peach, four blackberries, walnuts, sugar, and cream [1 tsp whipping cream, 2 tsp half and half]

I’m almost out of walnuts! Maybe I’ll buy some more this Friday…or check out other types of nuts 😛 And roar, I still have a whole thing of unused whipping cream! The half and half is not that much of a big deal since mom used a lot of it in her coffee, but I don’t normally put cream in anything! I have no clue how I’m going to finish that whipping cream…that stuff does taste good with oatmeal though…

Comments»

1. Romina - May 28, 2008

Mmm, oatmeal in soup sounds good! I’ve never thought of it before!

2. VeggieGirl - May 28, 2008

You’re brave, my friend, haha – actually sounds quite good though!! Who knew that oatmeal in soup would work out so well :0)

Looove your breakfast meal as well – yum!


Leave a Reply

