jump to navigation

Non-Oatmeal Stuff #7: Pizza toast May 29, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Non-Oatmeal Stuff, Snack.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Yesterday I found a use for the huge bottle of ketchup that my mom bought:


pizza sauce!

With parmesan sprinkled in, and topped with frozen veggies and canned white tuna. I was going to add cucumbers, but I forgot!

Anyway, I toasted the two slices of bread so that they would be “crust-like” πŸ˜€ I didn’t toast it too long ’cause ever since I learned that toasting bread would leave little flakes of carcinogens on top, I’d been too scared to go near a toaster until yesterday! πŸ˜› Damn pharmacology profs!

For dinner yesterday I had pasta:


shitake mushroom, some kinda seaweed, carrots, onions, chickpeas, Classico Red Wine & Herb sauce

With sunflower seeds on top of the pasta and the last of my tomatoes on the side! I’m also finally done my can of chickpeas–yay! πŸ˜€ The plate of veggies came out bigger than I expected–so I was stuffed–it was great. Empty stomach = unhappy stomach.

Oh my goodness, this morning at 1: 40 ish a.m. when waking up to go to the washroom I found a ghettobug in my washroom!!! My heart was racing so quickly…I hate waking up to those things ’cause then I’d stay awak for the rest of the night thinking about them…good thing I found it in my washroom and not in my bedroom! Anyway, I trapped it with a basket…and fired the bug spray. I then left to use the washroom on the 3rd floor ’cause I didn’t want to be near that thing! And when I returned–it escaped from the basket. Luckily, the bug spray made it rather drowsy and slow…I quickly grabbed my bug spray and went crazy until it died…

Anyway!!! At about 8: 00 a.m. this morning I went on another 20 minute run! It was sunny outside and I felt energetic so I opted to run instead of walk. I’m going again tomorrow with a friend–kinda nervous since she runs more regularly than I do–I don’t want to slow her down! πŸ˜›
I had breakfast about an hour and a half before my run:


banana, cherries, walnuts, cream [1 tsp whipping cream, 2 tsp half and half]

Delicious πŸ˜€ The cream makes the oatmeal smell so good. I spent 50% of the time sniffing my breakfast–no wonder I always take such a long time to finish my meals!

After my run, I showered and had a snack:


plain yogurt, strawberries, blackberries

And now it’s lunch time! Am excited to make my pizza toast again!

Comments»

1. Romina - May 29, 2008

I noticed you have Shopper’s organic tea. What do you think of their new line of products? I haven’t tried anything yet.

2. Kelly T - May 29, 2008

ACK! get that tea away from your computer!!

im probably just spazzy but i spill on my keyboard constantly.

my mom told me that my grandma used to use ketchup as spaghetti sauce because they were very poor. i dont know if thats one of those things your mom just says so you appreciate what you have a little more, but its still gross.

3. oatmeal - May 29, 2008

Romina
I only bought the tea ’cause there were too many other things to look at and I couldn’t decide! :-p I bought the blueberry white tea…didn’t taste different from any other type of tea, to be honest πŸ˜› Smells good though!

Kelly T
Heh I know it’s bad to have so many liquids close to my computer–aah one of these days I’m going to regret it…but in the mean time, I guess I’ll put my drink elsewhere and be careful! Haha
Really! My mom uses ketchup as pasta sauce as well–but she also mix in cheese and other stuff so it doesn’t taste like ketchup πŸ˜€ [I don’t really like the taste of ketchup by itself either–ugh!]

4. VeggieGirl - May 29, 2008

Very interesting, with the pizza toast – another fun experiment, sans oats!! Haha ;0)

Mmm, your pasta and oatmeal look particularly enticing!! Yum!!

AHHH!!!! I’m BEYOND petrified of bugs!!! **shivers at the mere thought of the ghettobug**

5. lindzakins921 - May 29, 2008

yum… the pizza toast looks delish, but that bowl of oats is even more enticing AND colorful πŸ™‚

bugs really skeeve me out, really bad too… usually i reach for the hairspray to freeze them LOL

6. Jill - May 29, 2008

That pasta looks and sounds AMAZING!! I’m very jealous!

GHETTOBUG!!! That’s what they are! Man, are they creepy, I hate them. I can stand most bugs (I must when the kids I work with come up and hand them to me) but they are just too much for me.

7. Jenn - May 29, 2008

Well you sufficiently scared me with that picture of the ghettobug!! I’m never even heard of them…and hope I NEVER NEVER see one!!!!

Quick request – would you kick my butt if I asked to start our challenge on Sunday?! I forgot I have a dinner on Saturday and it’d be pretty weird to BMOO (bring my own oatmeal) πŸ˜‰

Let me know!!

8. Kristie - May 30, 2008

Once again your combos intrigue me! Ketchup as a pizza sauce… never thought of that. I’d be willing to give it a go though, as long as I mixed it with a few other things. Could be interesting!

And that bug… omg that’s terrifying. If I found something like that around I don’t think I’d be able to enter the room again for a week. I DESPISE bugs of any kind, but especially of the weird, disgusting, million leg, crawly sort.

9. MizFit - May 30, 2008

ok ILL EAT ANYTHING IN THE NAME OF HEALTH πŸ™‚ but that pizza toast?
I may need to hold off on that one.

happy friday!

10. WeightingGame - May 30, 2008

That’s miiiighty brave of you to perch your te atop your ‘puter!

11. Sagan - May 30, 2008

I always have a mug of (very hot) tea near the keyboard… so far I’ve been lucky enough to not spill on it, though. Instead, it likes to land in my lap! Ouchouchouch:)

I love the presentation of your food- it looks so pretty! Nice idea for the pizza toast, I’ll have to try it some time!

12. Easy Pizza Dough Recipe - July 9, 2008

Easy Pizza Dough Recipe…

[…] What is one word that describes you?12. What is your flickr name?1. Alessandra, BΓ‘rbara e Karen, 2. Homemade Pepperoni Pizza, 3. Saint-Vincent-de-Paul – Paris (France), 4. pink gadgets, 5. Alex Rodriguez, Mike Piazza, 6. Vodka with Red […]…

13. Jason Stewart - August 3, 2009

check out my really speedy, delish pizza on toast, it’s a winner! http://www.delishflickzine.com/Flickzine/flickzine.html


Leave a Reply

