jump to navigation

Experiment #30: TBA May 30, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Breakfast Challenge, Dinner, Lunch, Non-Oatmeal Stuff, Snack.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Guess the secret ingredient!


Hint: it’s not really that much of a secret 😛

Could actually hardly taste the ingredient, actually–’cause it’s so similiar to oatmeal! The bowl smelled really good–kinda like rice, but with a little extra something 😀

The peach and blueberries gave the bowl a good amount of sweetness, but I think it would have been even better with either more sugar or some bananas!

For yesterday’s dinner, I had pasta again! I heart le spaghetti:


zucchini, onions, black beans, carrots, broccoli, Red Wine & Herb sauce

This morning I went on another 20 minute run by the lake and the neighborhood! Did it all without stopping, and by the end I still had a good amount of energy left–so I ran the rest of the way home 😀 I had a banana and finished off my tub of yogurt:


Complete with cherries [at the second layer] and strawberries!

And tonight, I cooked eggplants for the very first time!

I bought them ’cause they were on sale and I’ve been wanting to eat it for a long time. So while I was at the lab I decided to google up some stuff about eggplants and found out that apparently it’s got nicotine in it and I was like…crap. 😛 So I got nervous and looked up a bunch of stuff about how to prepare and cook it…and most of the sites said you had to salt, rinse, and then pat them dry–so that’s what I did, except I got overly excited with the salt :mrgreen:


Oh! Bergine!

Baked them for about 15 minutes ’cause I wanted to make sure they were cooked! They tasted nice and chewy. Could have done with less salt though! But I liked it 😀 Had 2 small slices of it with my dinner:


white&brown rice with rice vinegar, broccoli, carrots, onions, black beans, eggplants, zucchini

With 0.25 cup of some vanilla chai drink [my housemate bought it] mixed with water ’cause it was really sweet

Breakfast Challenge: Update
Start date has been postponed to Sunday because of reasons 😀 But this works out great for me since I’m not really sure how I could have incorporated all that eggplant I made into breakfast anyway! [I could put them in oatmeal…but the amount of salt I had going on in the eggplant would have tasted really weird with fruits and other things! Maybe someone with a more adventurous palate than I can try it and tell me how that works out :mrgreen: ]

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - May 30, 2008

Wait… is the secret ingredient wheatberries or something?? I feel really dense for not picking up on this, haha **hides in shame**

Can’t go wrong with a hearty pasta meal – yum!

Oooh, baked eggplant!! I haven’t eaten eggplant in sooo long – I miss it.

Can’t wait for your challenge to begin!!

2. Jenn - May 30, 2008

Ahh I can’t figure out the secret ingredient either…maybe bulgar?

Thanks for waiting on me on the challenge — I’m looking forward to it! 🙂

3. Romina - May 30, 2008

Quinoa??

4. ChocolateCoveredVegan - May 30, 2008

Haha nicotine in eggplant?! How weird!

5. glidingcalm - May 31, 2008

Carmen!
1) Thank you so much for inspiring me to try sweet potato oatmeal! It was pretty yummy! My #1 fav is still banana…but I’m glad you gave me another option. The only thing is that I nuked my sweet potato rather than baking it, which I think really dried it out…and contributed to a very thick “glue”-like oatmeal. Plus I probably could have put more liquid in. Anyways, thanks again for the idea…and I saw your banana and cherry post too…that sounds intriguing!

2) I’ve always been really uneasy/afraid of cooking eggplant. Though I love it and will always eat it if someone ELSE prepares it, I’m still too scared…the whole salting thing makes me nervous…since I really don’t care for salty food.

3) Thanks for cooking so many creative dishes! I love how you play with ingredients, and everytime I come to your site you never cease to surprise me or spark curiosity!

Have a great weekend!!

6. oatmeal - May 31, 2008

glidingcalm
Glad you liked it! 😀 I actually boiled the sweet potatoes~so it was mushy–but I think I’ll try your method next time just to try it!
Yeah…the salting made me nervous too–didn’t know how much to add so I went nuts, haha. The eggplants actually absorb flavor quite readily, so just keep that in mind if you ever decide to make them!
Thanks for your comments 🙂

7. lindzakins921 - May 31, 2008

mmm yum… i love eggplants, but the fact that it has nicotine in it now freaks me out… who knew!!!!

Ahhhh I can’t figure out the secret ingredient either! Do share 🙂

8. Sagan - May 31, 2008

I can’t bring myself to really enjoy eggplant, unfortunately. Your breakfast challenge looks like so much fun and I can’t wait to hear about the food you make for it!

9. Leng - May 31, 2008

Could the secret ingredient be rice? If not mashed potatoes?

I love egg plant especially in curry. Yum!

10. Non-Experiment #2: Pears & Answers! « The Oatmeal Experiment - May 31, 2008

[…] 31, 2008 The “secret” ingredient I mentioned in the previous entry is mashed potatoes! And Leng guessed […]


Leave a Reply

