jump to navigation

Breakfast Challenge: Day 1 June 1, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast Challenge.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Breakfast
Experiment #31: Veggie Oatmeal

Didn’t take a picture, but I added some walnuts later on–I’d forgotten to put them in before!


carrots, corn, zucchini, cinnamon, 1% milk, 0.5 tsp sugar, 1 tsp whipping cream

I figured–we have carrot cake, corn muffins, and zucchini bread, so these veggies probably wouldn’t taste weird with oatmeal that’s been sweetened with sugar! And I was right :mrgreen: The carrots gave an otherwise mushy bowl some extra sweetness and crunch at the same time! As an added bonus, the mixture was bright, colorful, and nice to look at! I’d have it again 😀

UGH. Had trouble sleeping again, so I was awake at 1: 12 a.m.–I managed to make myself stay in bed til 2: 30…yeah…so I did quite a bit of snacking between my bowl of oatmeal and lunch :p Didn’t take pictures, but I had coffee, then a banana about two hours later, then soy nuts another hour or two later! Hahah I snack so much 😛

Before I left to meet my friend to walk to the grocery store, I made a cup of pumpkin pie yogurt:

With a bit of sugar, vanilla extract, ground ginger, and cinnamon for flavor, and all-bran cereal “crust” 😀

Lunch
Cereal & Toast

Lunch was rushed ’cause we left for the grocery store 15 minutes later than I expected D: [It takes 1 hour 20 minutes to walk to and back from the grocery store that we were going to!] That’s too bad ’cause I was excited to be eating cereal at lunch! It’s a good thing I planned a relatively simple meal:

Half a cup of 1% milk and all-bran cereal with a gala apple. Then I toasted a piece of whole wheat toast and spread some blueberrycherry jam on top. It was a surprisingly filling lunch–given how hungry I was!

Dinner
Beans & toast, breakfast sushi

Was starving and exhausted by dinner time–I blame it on the 4 hours of sleep that I got…

On the plate: A piece of toast topped with baked beans, kidney beans, and romano beans. Apparently it’s a common thing to eat at breakfast in Australia! Can’t believe I’d never thought to do that before~

On the bowl to the right: scrambled egg with eggplant cubes, sunflower seeds, and sushi rice [brown&white rice with rice vinegar]. Since I didn’t microwave the leftover rice I made two days before–it really did taste like sushi!

The drink is Bolthouse Farms Vanilla Chai mixed with water

Dessert
Peanut butter fondue

Bought a new jar of all-natural PB today ’cause it was on sale!

I eat PB out of the jar because I can 😀

My goal’s to try and keep this PB jar around for at least 3 weeks–not sure how successful I’m going to be though!

Haha I’m glad Jenn‘s also doing this challenge with me so that when I tell people about it, I wouldn’t sound so much like a weirdo :mrgreen: And if anyone out there is crazy enough to join us–please do so!

Comments»

1. Jenn - June 1, 2008

You are so creative – who knew beans on a piece of toast = breakfast somewhere in the world?! It looks like your first day was a great success 🙂

2. VeggieGirl - June 1, 2008

Vegetable Oatmeal?!?!?! TOO fun. Love it!!! I can’t wait to see your NEXT breakfast challenge meal :0D

Ahh, I do hope that you’re able to sleep better soon!

3. Romina - June 1, 2008

I can’t count how many times I’ve said “I bought it because it was on sale!” Now I’m stuck with 5 jars of PB!! Crazy!!

Mmm… smart way to get veggies into your breakfast!! Your challenge is such a success.

4. lindzakins921 - June 1, 2008

love the veggie oatmeal – what an amazing creation!

i’m also loving the looks of that pumpkin pie yogurt… you are a genius 🙂

5. Wrap-up: Day 1 « eating bender - June 1, 2008

[…] what’s the verdict on day one? Well, I certainly wasn’t as creative as Carmen in terms of finding “alternative” breakfasts (beans on toast, who knew?!), so I’m […]

6. RLS - June 2, 2008

omg… veggie oatmeal… it makes sense 🙂

that all looked so yummy… and you’d only have a jar of PB for 3 weeks TOPS? yikes… ours last a good two months and that’s with quite a few PB&J sandwiches in school lunches lol

7. Sagan - June 2, 2008

Vegetables in oatmeal? Craziness:)

Love the photo of eating PB from the jar!

8. chasingelizabeth - June 2, 2008

You have now convinced me to try veggie oatmeal. That bowl was so colorful and tasty looking!

i once tried to make a Korean dish using oats instead of rice. It was actually pretty darn tasty 🙂

9. eatingbirdfood - June 5, 2008

YUM. You’re making me miss England with the Beans on toast. When I stayed in England for a month I had that regularly for b-fast. As well as beans on baked potatoes, which they call Jacket potatoes.

10. Post-All-Nighter Party « The Oatmeal Experiment - November 14, 2008

[…] I kinda want to bring out the veggie oatmeal again~but no time to go grocery shopping! [the store’s like…half an hour away D: […]


Leave a Reply

