jump to navigation

Breakfast Challenge: Day 3 June 3, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast Challenge.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Breakfast
Japanese breakfast

Since I like japanese food so much, I decided to have breakfast in japanese style–rice, fish, green tea, and miso soup! Of couse, I don’t have all the resources available to make it a traditional breakfast…like natto and pickled veggies…and I didn’t grill my fish ’cause I don’t have a grill! πŸ˜› I also used instant miso soup packets.

But yar anyway, it was really strange eating things like soup and fish for breakfast! I guess it’s a refreshing change from the sweet stuff I normally eat πŸ˜€ And the rice tasted so good–I seasoned it with rice vinegar and some japanese rice seasoning~can’t wait to make it again!

Lunch
Scottish breakfast

Potato scones! Although I did alter the recipe slightly and opted for baking instead of pan frying ’cause my baking sheet is so much easier to wash than an oily pan!

Before baking:

After baking:

Guess the next time I use a recipe that calls for pan frying when I’m baking, I should add more flour! The scones were quite mushy even after I flipped them over and sprinkled more flour on them to bake~they were delicious though πŸ˜€ But they tasted more like cake than scones!

I had two slices with peanut butter and jam, and on the side I had half a cup all-bran cereal with milk and chopped pears mixed in!

Dinner
Experiment #33: Veggie Oatmeal – Part II


Pumpkin, blueberry, zucchini, egg, walnuts, 1% milk, cinnamon, ground ginger, sugar

The bowl smelled predominantly of cinnamon–I find that once you add cinnamon to a dish, the smell covers everything else. Not that it’s a bad thing–but I never noticed it til now! And I didn’t even add that much cinnamon! Weird~

I’ve been looking forward to this all day, ’cause I don’t usually cook oatmeal on stove top, and if I do, I don’t throw in the fruits to cook! So that was kinda cool πŸ˜€ Tried tons of new things today!

Comments»

1. lindzakins921 - June 3, 2008

yum, i am loving all these creative ideas you have had!!! i love how you added zucchini to your oats, kind of reminds me of my grandmom’s zucchini banana bread!

2. VeggieGirl - June 3, 2008

Scottish breakfast AND Japanese breakfast?? WONDERFUL!! Which ethnic cuisine will you tackle next?? I’m thinking Italian… :0)

Mmm, vegetable-oatmeal!! Haha yes, cinnamon DEFINITELY overpowers dishes (but as you said, that’s not necessarily a bad thing).

3. Jenn - June 3, 2008

Scottish and Japanese breakfasts?! You are soo creative! Your worldliness inspired me – I’m going to try to find something from my heritage now πŸ™‚

4. Kristie - June 3, 2008

Funny enough, I really like your idea of putting zucchini in your oatmeal.. I kinda want to give that a try now!

You are so creative and worldly with your breakfasts haha

5. ChocolateCoveredVegan - June 4, 2008

You are the cutest thing ever!

6. Sagan - June 4, 2008

Scones… oatmeal… damn I’m hungry!


Leave a Reply

