jump to navigation

Breakfast Challenge: Day 4 June 4, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast Challenge.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Breakfast
Mocha berries


Strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, sugar, coffee powder, cocoa, 1% milk

Three different kinds of berries! How exciting is that? Sad news is that I used up the last of my strawberries 😦 Have to wait til Friday til I can see what type of fruits I can get for sale price!

Anyway~coffee & chocolate & fruits definitely go together! And the berries look so bright & colorful against the chocolae-coffee oatmeal!
Couldn’t stop staring that that very blue blueberry!


Forgot to add the walnuts when the first picture was taken 😛

Lunch
Italian breakfast

I made polenta! Was so excited for this ’cause I went on a 1 hour 20 minute walk [back and forth :D] for a bag of cornmeal just so I could experience the wonders of polenta :mrgreen:


After 40 minutes of hardcore stirring!

Not sure how much water to add so I kept adding the water til 40 minutes was over :mrgreen: Guess now that I’ve had the full polenta experience, I can just use the low heat trick from now on!


Apparently Austrians eat polenta for breakfast too!

Polenta with milk, apples, and a little bit of sugar. Plus 2 potato scones [I went for seconds 😀 ] with plain yogurt & jam!

Dinner
Pain au chocolat & pumpkin pie rice

Finished the day off with my own version of the french chocolate sandwich–using banana and cocoa powder, spread over a piece of toasted rye bread [they were on sale]! Was too lazy to get a new spoon to scoop the cocoa powder with so I made a mess 😛

Had my meal with a cup of Bolthouse Farms vanilla chai drink mixed with water.

The pumpkin pie rice [topped with all-bran & soy nuts as the “crust”] wasn’t as sweet as I hoped…so I threw in the bananas left over from the chocolate bread 😀 Was a very filling meal! Although I think I’m going to take a short hiatus from pumpkin for a while!

Tomorrow’s the last day of the challenge! Can’t believe it’s almost over already–the five days are just flying by!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - June 4, 2008

Coffee & berries are good together, eh?? I actually thought that they wouldn’t be… now I know that they are, thanks to your latest experiment!! :0)

Your version of the French chocolate sandwich looks soooo decadent – yum!! And the pumpkin rice is quite intriguing!!

Tomorrow is the last day of the challenge already?? No!! Keeping going!! :0D

2. Kristie - June 4, 2008

Mmm I want that french chocolate sandwich!

I’ve never tried polenta. If it’s worth over an hour’s walk plus nearly an hour’s cooking time though then maybe it’s about time I give it a try!

3. Jenn - June 4, 2008

Coffee and berries? Perhaps I will have to try that one out sometime, since I like both 🙂

I had polenta croutons at a restaurant once and they were so good! I definitely will have to make my own sometime!!

Your pain au chocolat looks dreamy!

4. Romina - June 4, 2008

POLENTA!!! YUMMY!!! Oh my gosh, I could have some for breakfast!

5. lindzakins921 - June 4, 2008

nooooooo i dont want the challenge to end… i love seeing what deliciously yummy combinations you come up with hehe…

love the coffee-chocolate oats w/ the berries ahhhhhhh!

6. RLS - June 4, 2008

I agree with lindz… don’t end it! lol

That breakfast looks seriously delicious (wait, which one? all of them!)
My three faves- chocolate, coffee and berries all together = heavenly!

I have so many great breakfast ideas now thanks to you!

7. linds - June 4, 2008

Chocolate and coffee oatmeal?!? I’m in love!!!!!!!!!!

8. Sagan - June 5, 2008

Sounds so delectable! I love the fruit/chocolate combo. I buy big bags of frozen mixed berries so its lovely to eat strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries every day!

9. joejhorn - June 29, 2008

Hello, Cool Idea. I just made polenta a few days ago with Gorgonzola cheese and heavy cream. It was pretty darn good so if you have time come check it out and let me know what you think.

http://cookingquest.wordpress.com

10. oatmeal scones - July 10, 2008

[…] is that? Sad news is that I used up the last of my strawberries Have to wait til Friday til I canhttps://oatmealmix.wordpress.com/2008/06/04/breakfast-challenge-day-4/Oatmeal Scones Recipe – Cook’s IllustratedThis recipe was developed using Gold Medal unbleached […]

11. Challenges « The Oatmeal Experiment - September 30, 2008

[…] Challenge Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day […]


Leave a Reply

