jump to navigation

Oatmeal #48: Goji Berries – Part I June 21, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Recipes.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Thursday’s breakfast:

Top left: miso soup
Top right: vegan cornbread, banana
Bottom: scrambled eggs, potatoes, frozen mixed veggies, parmesan cheese

I finished off the last of my miso soup packets–turns out there were only 3 packets in one bag! Psh what a rip off…don’t know how much mom got these for, but we’re probably better off making it from scratch! Oh well–at least I made sure this stuff didn’t go to waste :mrgreen:

Post-run snack:


strawberries & instant cereal

Note to self: strawberries and hot cereal does not go well together! The strawberries got all mushy and sour in the hot water and lost all its sweetness 😦 It wasn’t gross or anything, I just didn’t like the taste.

I couldn’t wait for lunch ’cause I was having muesli again! It’s really addictive, I tell you! And if you’re going to make this–don’t use quick oats! It doesn’t come out bad or anything, but it’s less chewy–although they seem to absorb the moisture better~

Ingredients:

  • 0.5 cup oats
  • 0.5 cup water
  • 0.25 cup goji berries
  • 0.25 cup blueberries
  • 0.25 cup soy milk
  • 1 tbsp plain yogurt
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 2 tsp sunflower seeds

Mix together and store in fridge overnight or for about 5 hours.

Goji berries are naturally sweet, so sugar’s not necessary! These berries have the same general texture of blueberries once they’ve sucked up some moisture so it’s quite awesome eating them together ’cause the flavors just blend so well! Although the goji berries are a lot sweeter than blueberries, so I could just barely detect the latter~

I was really excited for dinner ’cause I was having pasta with curry! I packed a dinner ’cause I had to go back to the lab at 7 p.m. …I thought I was going to stay at the lab til 7 p.m….but by 5: 15 I couldn’t take it any more [I had been at the lab for 7 hours at that point! 😯 ] so I went home 😛 Yeah yeah, I lack perseverance…it’s quite a problem…


Yummeh!

Broccoli, brussel sprouts, corn, mushrooms, carrots, and soy nuts. It was sooo good…but I totally didn’t have enough 😦 That’s probably the other reason I went home 😛

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - June 21, 2008

I love goji berries!

2. Romina - June 21, 2008

I’ve seriously gotta try some overnight muesli!

3. ChocolateCoveredVegan - June 21, 2008

Chocolate-covered veggies? Hahahaha!

I don’t know if I like sharing my chocolate-covered title ;o)

Ooh, and I’ve never had a goji berry, but I know that they’re really good for you.

4. Jenn - June 21, 2008

I’m with Romina – and I’ve also never tried goji berries before, so I better get on that too!

5. Kristie - June 22, 2008

I tried goji berries once and I found them dry and bitter… maybe I need to try soaking them like that! They are darn expensive though so I’m not sure if I want to fork out the cash since my only experience with them so far has been pretty lame… but I guess I really do need to give them another chance!


Leave a Reply

