jump to navigation

Oatmeal #50: Longans – Part I June 24, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Saturday’s breakfast–man, I’m really behind!


Sorry for the blurry picture! My camera sucks at taking pictures with natural lighting 😐

And this is my 50th experiment! Although there were a lot of similarities across the comboes, I’ve at least made sure that no combo is exactly the same! Therefore my conclusion is that I’m really awesome πŸ˜€ It’s unfortunate that I didn’t realize this was my 50th when I was preparing it! πŸ˜› If I had known, there would have been some chocolate thrown in at the very least!


Even more muesli πŸ˜€ With banana and my first ever cup of chai tea

Contains:

  • 0.5 cup oats
  • 0.5 cup water
  • 0.25 cup soy milk
  • 2 tbsp plain yogurt
  • 8 pieces longans
  • 3-4 medium strawberries [don’t remember exact amount…]
  • 2 tsp sunflower seeds
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ

Whooo–longans! Have never tried these in anything other than the soups that my mom makes, so I have no clue before hand exactly what their real flavors were! Although I did hypothesize that they’d be ten times sweeter since they’re not soaked in boiling water for a really long time. And being the smart person that I am–I was totally right πŸ˜€

They’re a strange mix of chewy and crunchy [it’s a very subtle crunch], and really sweet~I think as sweet as goji berries…maybe even sweeter? It’s a good thing I balanced that with the less sweet taste of strawberries, or I would have exploded! Anyway, if you’ve had lychees before, you’d like longans πŸ˜€

Anyway, since this is the 50th–it gets an entire entry devoted to it! [And also because I realized just now that I forgot to upload my lunch pictures πŸ˜› ]

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - June 24, 2008

Your 50th experiment?!?!?! Fabulous!!! My, how time flies :0D

2. Jenn - June 24, 2008

Fifty nifty experiments – woohoo!! πŸ™‚

Lychees, longans…lost me. I am SO not as cultured as you are – I will be looking those up on Google now, thanks!

3. RLS - June 24, 2008

Fifty! WOW! The ones that I’ve seen have been incredible that’s for sure. I think adding longans made it special enough πŸ™‚

Congrats!

(love love love chai!)

Here’s to the next 50!
Beck

4. lindzakins921 - June 24, 2008

wow congrats on the 50th experiment w/ oatmeal, truly a monumental occasion πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

