jump to navigation

Non-Oatmeal Stuff #8: Fruits & Milk June 26, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Lunch, Non-Oatmeal Stuff, Snack.
trackback

Have been having these awesome drinks for lunch lately–really adds an element of excitement to a day at the lab!

So on the first day I had banana milk with a cheese & sunflower seed sandwich [Dempster’s flax bread πŸ˜€ ]

More banana milk with mushroom-zucchini pizza sandwich and blueberries:

Oh oh, and I also gave Cliff bars a try that day–I got the peanut toffee flavor! I figured–it was on sale–so why not? πŸ˜›

My only complaint was that it was way too sweet–and this is coming from someone with a major sweet tooth! But other than that, it was fantastic with the bits of peanuts and all!

Anywhoo–some more bananas! And even more pizza sandwiches with blueberries & strawberries on the side

Gave strawberry milk a try next:

Wasn’t as good as banana milk for sure! Strawberries just aren’t sweet and flavorful enough to carry through half a cup of milk 😦 It smelled like what it was, but the taste was lacking–good thing I added blueberries!

Along with the milk I had scrambled eggs, mixed veggies, carrots [I think], parmesan cheese, sunflower seeds, and a piece of flax bread.

And today I had strawberry-banana milk!

Just right! There was only half a banana in there, because I didn’t want to oerwhelm the strawberry flavor. But it was enough! And I’m so glad I decided to make this ’cause I was sick as hell today at the lab, and this totally gave me a small burst of energy.

The other container has: scrambled eggs, tofu, carrots, and flax bread. Yum! Haven’t had tofu in a while, so when I saw that these were on sale–I totally went crazy :mrgreen:

All I can say is–who needs a blender when you have hands and a fork?

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - June 26, 2008

The banana-milk sounds enticing!

2. Jenn - June 27, 2008

Ooh – like the new site design πŸ™‚

Wow – banana and strawberry milk is a great idea. I’m always trying to come up with summer fun drinks besides water that aren’t completely horrible for you – these are definitely fun AND healthy πŸ™‚

3. ChocolateCoveredVegan - June 27, 2008

My favorite clif bars are the maple ones and the oatmeal-walnut ones (which you would probably like, since they have OATMEAL in the title hehe).

4. lindzakins921 - June 27, 2008

what amazing combinations πŸ™‚ i love the idea of putting sunflower seeds on a sandwich!

5. Pages tagged "stuff" - June 28, 2008

[…] bookmarks tagged stuff Non-Oatmeal Stuff #8: Fruits & Milk saved by 3 others     HatakeAyumi bookmarked on 06/27/08 | […]


Leave a Reply

