jump to navigation

Oatmeal #51&52: Longans & Scones June 27, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert, Recipes, Snack.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Sunday’s muesli:

I’ve been so bad at keeping up to date with my posts lately! And sorry for the blurry pictures–like I said before–my camera sucks at taking pictures with natural light…and my hands keep shaking! Grrr…

Anyway, this breakfast consisted of:

  • the usual amount of oats, water, yogurt, milk, wheat germ, sunflower seeds
  • 1 kiwi
  • 8 dried longans [but plumped right up after soaking with the oatmeal overnight!]

Along with a cup of green tea.
The oatmeal wasn’t anything spectacular, but it was still pretty good πŸ˜€

I also did some baking on the same day–haven’t baked in ages–don’t know how I managed to survive!


raspberry oatmeal scones πŸ˜€

They didn’t actually taste that much like scones πŸ˜› They’ve got a cakey texture, and not too sweet–just the way I like ’em πŸ˜€

Recipe for those who’re interested!
Makes 10 medium sized scones.

1.33 cup whole wheat flour
4 tsp applesauce
1 tbsp butter [or margarine], melted
0.25 cup quick oats
4 tsp baking powder
0.5 cup milk [or soy milk]
0.25 cup raspberries
0.5 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp sugar

1. Preheat oven to 425 F
2. Mix the melted butter and applesauce together, then add milk.
3. Then throw in the rest of the ingredients and mix til you have a firm dough.
4. Scoop parts of the dough onto the baking tray to form individual scones
5. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - June 27, 2008

Cake-y scones?? Perfect!!

2. ChocolateCoveredVegan - June 27, 2008

Ooh I’m making those scones for sure! I love raspberries, and I, of course, love cake!

Ok, this is going to sound really weird, but sometimes when I was younger, I drank heavy cream from the carton before my mom would sweeten it and mix it up to make whipped cream. That’s what my oatmeal with soymilk and salt reminds me of!

3. Sagan - June 27, 2008

You’re fantastic for posting that recipe. It looks great. Did you just use regular raspberries? Do you think it’d sorta work with frozen ones or do you need them to be fresh?

4. Jenn - June 27, 2008

Recipe looks AWESOME! I think I might try it was some bananas this weekend!!

5. Kristie - June 27, 2008

Those scones look good, I’ll definitely give them a try, especially since the ingredients list is so simple and I have all of it already!


Leave a Reply

