jump to navigation

Oatmeal #55: Choco-Apple Crumble June 29, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snack.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Well kinda:

Yesterday’s breakfast.
Oh, and I’m pleased to announced that from this point on there’ll be a lot less blurry pictures! Yay–I finally figured out how to get this natural lighting thing right this morning–so expect to see some great quality pictures of my oatmeal tomorrow!

Anyway, the above bowl of oats contain:

  • oats, yogurt, milk, wheat germ, sunflower seeds
  • 1 gala apple
  • 1 tsp cocoa
  • approx 0.5 tsp cinnamon [no clue–I kinda just sprinkled without a care πŸ˜› ]
  • 0.125 cup kellogg’s all-bran, for extra crunch!

I really really like the crunchiness! I’ll definitely be adding more all-bran to my oats in the future! And finally got the amount of cocoa right this time–success!

Before my run I did some baking:

Granola bars!

Saw the recipe for oatmeal bars on Kath’s blog and got inspired! I didn’t follow her recipe exactly–maybe that’s why I ended up with so little! I had about 7 little bars, but she had 9 giant ones! Fail-age 😦 Still tasted great though πŸ˜€

I had some along with half a banana and blueberries as a post-run snack:

Lunch was really exciting ’cause I couldn’t wait to try out the raspberrybanana milk that I created!

I used 16 raspberries and half of a banana. It was the perfect blend! I could taste both flavors perfectly, and the banana dulled down the intense smell of the raspberries–which was good ’cause for some reason the smell made me nauseous 😯 But anyway, it was really really good.

The other part of my lunch was also really exciting:

Tofu and melted cheese!!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ I’ll just leave it at that ’cause I think you get the general idea!

For dinner, I cooked my rice and veggies in a different way–“stiry-fry”!

Except it wasn’t really a stir-fry ’cause it was too moist πŸ˜› I basically drenched everything in chicken broth–oops! So the rice came out really soft and flavorful–fine with me!

Oh, and it was also the first time I’ve ever had orange peppers–definitely hooked! They’re so sweet and crunchy! I couldn’t resist snacking on the raw pieces as I was cooking πŸ˜›

Comments»

1. » Oatmeal #55: Choco-Apple Crumble - June 29, 2008

[…] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

2. VeggieGirl - June 29, 2008

WHOA that neon-green background behind the granola bars is vivid, haha – my eyes are sore!! :0D

3. oatmeal - June 29, 2008

VeggieGirl
Haha–oops! Sorry about that πŸ˜› Guess I didn’t realize how neon my baking mat is!

4. Kristie - June 29, 2008

Mmm tofu and melted cheese!
Rice drenched in broth sounds pretty darn tasty to me. And I hear you about orange peppers. And really any peppers in general, they are such an awesome vegetable.

5. Aly - June 29, 2008

Yum, the breakfast pic looks delish.

6. Shirley - June 30, 2008

I’ll have to remember to get some raspberries to try out the raspberry-banana milk.I clicked on the link to see the oatmeal bar recipe and the blog has been deleted.

7. Jenn - June 30, 2008

Ooh granola bars! Haha that is one neon baking mat, you’re right πŸ™‚

Interesting twist on grilled cheese with the tofu – looks tasty!!

8. oatmeal - June 30, 2008

Kristie — they really are! I can’t believe it took me so long to really get into peppers!

Shirley — I think I entered the URL wrong? :p The website is http://katheats.com πŸ˜€

9. happyherbivore - June 30, 2008

you always come up with the most amazing combos~! fake cheese and tofu? you rule. i know what ill be sending in the lunch box tomorrow! thanks to you~!

10. Oatmeal #57: Chocolate Rice « The Oatmeal Experiment - July 2, 2008

[…] had pumpkin, yogurt, cinnamon, kiwi, and I broke up the granola bars that I made into pieces to eat with the yogurt–yum! It was quite […]


Leave a Reply

