jump to navigation

Non-Oatmeal Stuff #9: Canada Day Gnocchi July 1, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Dinner, Lunch, Non-Oatmeal Stuff.
trackback

I eat Italian food on a Canadian holiday–because I’m just that cool.


Wowzer!

They taste like chewy potato balls! I would have thrown all 55 or so of them in to cook but I want to save some for tomorrow and Thursday! I was so excited about making these ’cause the ingredient list was so simple and yet I’ve read that tons of things can go wrong with them! As you can see, I’m really glad nothing went wrong today šŸ˜€

Here’s what they look like before cooking:

Making them was fun! Really got my hands sticky and doughy–it’s like edible playdoh! :mrgreen: It probably took me about an hour–including potato boiling time–to make these, ’cause I’ve got such crazy skills…and also ’cause I didn’t really make that many–I actually cut the recipe by half.


A little bit of red, a little bit of white

Raw peppers are officially one of my favorite things to eat!
The only bad thing was that dinner wasn’t enough to fill me up! So for dessert I ate like…half a bag of grapes šŸ˜› Oh well! It’s Canada Day, I’m allowed šŸ˜€

And finally–I made rice milk yesterday! I was looking forward to lunch so much:

I threw half a banana in there for taste! I think I poured too much milk into one container, ’cause the whole thing was kinda mild tasting–but still very good and refreshing!

Today I made a variation…kinda like a banana horchata?


!!

I added half a banana, cinnamon, and vanilla extract! It didn’t taste that much different, but the smell was phenomenal. Wowzer! My nose was really happy today šŸ˜€

Had this drink with about 0.25 cup of mixed nuts and a piece of flax bread with pumpkin spread on top:

All in all–a great Canada Day!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 1, 2008

Happy Canada Day!

2. lindzakins921 - July 1, 2008

happy canada day to ya…

pumpkin spread on bread is such a fantastic idea… seriously, how do you come up with these combos!

3. Jenn - July 2, 2008

Hurray for Canada Day!

I’ve never tried gnocchi, what exactly is it made with? I suppose I could look it up…but then you wouldn’t have a question to answer :mrgreen:

4. oatmeal - July 2, 2008

Jenn
Haha :mrgreen:
It’s just potato and flour~and some people put an egg in so that the dough sticks together more easily šŸ˜€ Try some! They make awesome snacks too~


Leave a Reply

