jump to navigation

Oatmeal #57: Chocolate Rice July 2, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Lunch, Snack.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Noooo I thought I had finally figured out how my camera works, but it turns out I haven’t! So there’s no closeup picture today–’cause all of them were blurry :X I guess the search for the perfect picture taking environment continues!

Anywhoo today’s breakfast contains:

  • 0.33 cup oats
  • 2 tbsp white sushi rice [leftovers from my rice milk making 😀 ]
  • 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 tbsp Kellogg’s All-Bran cereal
  • 20 grapes
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp chopped sunflower seeds
  • 0.25 cup water
  • 0.25 cup milk

Oats were runny again! What is it with today’s breakfast, dude? So annoying 👿 I think it’s ’cause the rice doesn’t soak up as much water as oats does…but anyway the chopped seeds and cereal gave my oats a grainy texture–very fun to chew! The grapes provided little explosions of sweetness and some fun crunch 😀 So taste-wise, this bowl was a success!

And I’ve decided I’m going to start keeping track of my nutrient intake just for fun! 😀 So this breakfast has: 11.5g fat, 7.5g fiber, 20g protein –wow, I get so little fiber! 😦

Anyway, my post-run snack picture turned out quite well:

I had pumpkin, yogurt, cinnamon, kiwi, and I broke up the granola bars that I made into pieces to eat with the yogurt–yum! It was quite filling 😀

This snack has: 6g fat, 7g fiber, 8g protein

Lastly, for lunch today:

A tofu-ketchup sandwich! Along with raspberry-banana rice milk, which I’ve decided I’m going to save as a snack later on to fuel me through my lab work! The sandwich did a pretty good job of keeping me full anyway–that extra piece of bread I threw in today definitely helped!

The lunch contains: 10g fat, 10g fiber, 11g protein. [oh this is so oddly entertaining! I’ll be keeping this up for a while 😀 ]

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 2, 2008

Your post-run snack is definitely filled with filling ingredients! Great!

2. Jenn - July 2, 2008

I’m liking the nutrient counter – it’s always so interesting to realize where we are lacking and where we have an overabundance (in my case, carbs!) 🙂

3. ChocolateCoveredVegan - July 2, 2008

chooooocolate and oatmeal together!!! Match made in heaven.

4. Kristie - July 3, 2008

I’ve considered doing the whole fiber protein count thing. I’ll glance at that info on labels from time to time but I never really try to calculate it or even think about it much when it comes to making meals. I seriously should. It can’t be that hard right? Maybe a little extra daily mental math could do some benefits to my eating 🙂

I like your idea of breaking up a granola bar into your yogurt!


Leave a Reply

