jump to navigation

Oatmeal #58: Quaker vs. Organic July 3, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Guess which is which!

If you guessed organic oats on the left, Quaker on the right–then congratulations, you are a nerd 😀

Anywhoo, if you frequent this blog, you’ll know that I pretty my never get any organic stuff ’cause I’m too cheap for that! But apprently, us Kingstonians must have some patron god of oatmeal smiling down on us or something ’cause Quaker is actually more expensive than organic rolled oats in this city! OH MY GOD! So I can actually buy the good stuff instead of just looking at it longingly from afar–wowza!

Anywhoo–check out the texture on that stuff–people were right–Quaker does roll their oats quite flat…and they seem…whiter? Or could it be ’cause that stuff came from the bottom of the bag and therefore a little powdery? Who knows. But in short–did not expect such a striking difference in appearance!

So for today’s breakfast, I blended the two together…

It wasn’t til I actually started eating that I realized it would have been even better if I had made two separate bowls with the two different types of oats! WHY. AM I STUPID.

Sigh…although my oats did seemed chewier than normal today…or maybe I’m just crapping myself

List of stuff:

  • 0.25 cup Quaker oats, 0.25 cup organic oats
  • water, milk, yogurt, wheat germ, chopped sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp kellogg’s all-bran
  • 2 tbsp raisins
  • 7 longans
  • 2 tbsp corn

Crunchily delicious! Had this along with jasmine green tea for some pre-run caffeination.

Nutrition info: 12g fat, 7g fiber, 18g, protein –WHY do I always end up with so much protein?! Anyone got any fibrous food suggestions?

Moving along–check out my colorful dinner from yesterday!

I finished all of my gnocchis–I shall miss them! Will definitely be making more of these in the future.

2g fat, 10g fiber, 12g protein–that’s more like it! Although it was still a little protein-heavy…proof that you don’t need to be a total omnivore to get your protein requirements!

Today’s lunch:

I used the potato skins left over from my gnocchi making adventures as sandwich filling ’cause I didn’t want to just throw them away! Seems like such a waste! And food should never be wasted, boys and girls 😀

Anywhoo, I poured ketchup all over that stuff for flavors. Had this sandwich along with blueberryraspberryapplesauce milk! In short, the raspberry flavor permeated the entire drink, with maybe only a little of the blueberries…the applesauce was pretty much not there. And mixing regular milk with soy milk didn’t seem to have affected the taste…but then again, I was having trouble smelling and tasting thanks to the wonders of allergies and the failure of whatever drug company that produced my antihistamines…

To finish off–tomorrow’s my first ever workfree day in about 2 months! I’m so excited–am going for japanese with a friend, then going grocery shopping! Whoo hoo! 😀

Comments»

1. RLS - July 3, 2008

I’ll trade you a few grams of protein for some fiber 😀

I use flax seed in my oatmeal to up the fiber, and try to pick high fiber fruits (like blackberries, yum)

potato skins, ketchup, bread… um YUM!

2. VeggieGirl - July 3, 2008

I’m proud to say that I’m a nerd then, haha :0)

3. lindzakins921 - July 3, 2008

HAHA – i love how you did an experiment with the two different kinds of oats 🙂

think of the bright side, since you didn’t make 2 bowls, you only had 1 bowl to clean!

4. glidingcalm - July 4, 2008

I’m still on the lookout for cheap organic bulk oats!! haven’t found them yet….. how do you make your “milk” – is it like a blended smoothie?

5. Sagan - July 4, 2008

It’s kinda nice when something organic ends up being cheaper! And most people don’t have to TRY to get in their protein requirements… seems to me that most of the time we all exceed our protein requirements by huge amounts without realizing it. But its good stuff:)

6. oatmeal - July 4, 2008

RLS
Ooo that sounds like a good idea! I should get some flax seeds…though I have nothing to grind them with! 😛

VeggieGirl
Hahah XD Good for you!

lindzakins921
That’s true 😀 Always a bright side to everything!

glidingcalm
Pretty much! It’s just milk and fruits…except I don’t have a blender so my weapon of choice is a fork 😀

Sagan
I know, eh? I never knew that was possible until now!
And it’s so true about the protein requirements…really makes me glad I don’t eat meat that often!

7. Jim M. - July 5, 2008

Organic oats are cheaper than Quaker in my town too, though they have gone up recently. The “thick cut” ones are a bit more expensive, but still cheaper than Q. I find I prefer the less chewy regular cut ones.

8. Jenn - July 6, 2008

I’m going to have to check to see if organic is cheaper here too – those oats do look so much chewier! I definitely could tell which was which, so I suppose that makes me a nerd too… 😉


Leave a Reply

