jump to navigation

Oatmeal #60: Rubies July 5, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Took a break from muesli to make some stovetop oats this morning!

Contains:

  • 0.5 cup water
  • 0.25 cup milk
  • 0.5 cup oats
  • 0.25 cup all-bran cereal
  • 1 black plum
  • 0.5 medium-ish banana
  • 1 tbsp wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp chopped sunflower seeds

Adding 0.25 cup of the all-bran makes all the difference! My breakfast is so much more filling and the eating experience is more fun ’cause there’s more to chew on 😀

And since plums were on sale at the grocery store, I went nuts and bought 6 small ones–would have gotten more, but I also bought 8 nectarines, so I had to exercise some restraint! 😛 Anywhoo–the plums were a great shade of red and added a slight tinge of sweet and sour to the overall mixture–fun!

Had it along with a cup of coffee.
This breakfast contains: 12g fat, 12g fiber, 15g protein

Had a boring snack today–some pumpkin and a nectarine–didn’t bother taking pictures 😛

On a really exciting note–I tried kale for the first time yesterday! Didn’t know what to do with them, so I attempted to make kale chips–but I didn’t drain them properly so they turned out soggy 😦 Still great though!

Had this along with mashed potatoes & bean soup:

7g fat, 12g fiber, 18g protein–UGH. Again with the protein overload!

I have lots of kale leftover ’cause I didn’t cook all of them at once–so I added two raw leaves to my tuna sandwich today for lunch:

Along with some jammin’ banana milk–basically: jam, half a banana, milk, and plain yogurt 😀 The yogurt made the milk much thicker–not unlike milk shake!

6g fat, 8g fiber, 20g protein–protein thanks to the tuna…

Basically had the same thing for dinner today as yesterday…except I ended up snacking on the soggy kale ‘chips’ as I cooked 😛 I also added some broccoli, cauliflower, and leftover rice from my rice milk adventures:

Very super filling! I added more onions and another clove of garlic, and more water–that probably contributed to the satiety!

6g fat, 11g fiber, 21g protein

And on a side note, I had a tablespoon of peanut butter for dessert–bought a jar this morning ’cause it was on sale! I’m going to try and make this thing last as long as possible 😀

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 5, 2008

Can’t go wrong with either stovetop oats or kale!! I’m a big fan of both :0)

2. All Vegged Out - July 5, 2008

Yummy! I love kale!

Why don’t you want to eat that much protein?

3. oatmeal - July 6, 2008

All Vegged Out
‘Cause I always end up going wayy over my protein requirements [50g] at the end of the day, so I want to try and cut down the amount I consume in most meals that I eat and focus on getting more fiber instead 😀

4. Lindsay - July 6, 2008

i love adding cereal to oats – its the perfect mix 🙂

5. mi - August 4, 2008

you should try again another time with kale chips – they are so good, all airy and crispy 🙂 that bread looks especially good for some reason!


Leave a Reply

