jump to navigation

Oatmeal # 61: Chocolatey Simpleness July 6, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Lunch, Snack.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Since I bought a new jar of peanut butter yesterday, I’ve decided to take a break from my more crazy comboes and settle for the more simple and classic combinations. So this morning I cooked up some chocolate-peanut butter oatmeal:

I also used 0.5 cup of milk this morning, just to see if it makes any difference…and found that it doesn’t really seem to? Anyway, I think the combo was too simple, ’cause I didn’t really feel full 😛 But! Taste-wise I have nothing to complain about! Oh, how I’ve missed thee, PB.

For fruits, I only threw in half a medium banana…way less than the amount I usually throw in–I like to have at least two difference kinds of fruits in the morning..so that could have been another reason why I wasn’t full! And might I add that it took all the willpower in the world not to go back and devour the entire jar of peanut butter!

20.5g fat, 6g fiber, 19g protein

Post-ghettobug-slaying snack:

A plum and granola bar! Needed some dosages of major comfort food after running around my room with a can of bug spray trying to kill anthropods that move with lightning speed and turn up when you least expect them to!

6g fat, 4g, fiber, 5g protein

Lunch:

Kale & cheese sandwich with a nectarine and half a banana [leftover from this morning]

The sandwich was surprisingly filling! So the fruits became my post-walk snack.

Altogether: 6g fat, 9.5g fiber, 15g protein

And dinner was pretty much the same thing–mashed potato & mixed bean soup with tofu, mixed veggies, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, onions, and garlic–my new standard dinner til I run out of potatoes!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 6, 2008

Can’t go wrong with the classics!

2. glidingcalm - July 6, 2008

HAHA! I’ve been running around chasing the bugs in my apt. too! It’s really gross actually…and frustrating! Totally made me laugh when I read that though!!

Oh and I can’t NOT have oats with PB. it’s a must. ALWAYS.

3. Jenn - July 6, 2008

Mmm, nothing better than chocolate-peanut butter oats. I’m glad you’re enjoying the peanut butter purchase 🙂

I just caught up on all of your posts – the all-bran idea is really interesting. It sounds like a great way to get in some extra fiber!

4. Sagan - July 7, 2008

I like the classic combos. Especially when it involves PB!


Leave a Reply

