jump to navigation

Oatmeal #62: PB&J – Part II July 7, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snack.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Today’s breakfast:

oatmeal-jul7_08 (1)

I first tried PB&J oats a few months ago, and today I decided to upgrade that a little by adding more crap! πŸ˜€ My bowl contains:

  • 0.5 cup water
  • 0.33 cup milk
  • 0.5 cup organic oats
  • 2 tbsp blueberries
  • 0.5 medium banana
  • 2 tbsp Kellogg’s all-bran cereal
  • 1 tbsp Skippy’s all-natural peanut butter
  • 1 tsp Ed Smith’s blueberry-cherry jam
  • wheat germ, sunflower seeds

Now I know why people like peanut butter oatmeal so much! Can’t imagine any other way to eat it now πŸ˜€ I think the problem before was that I stirred the PB in–which completely turned my oatmeal into some savory porridge thing and the PB flavor got completely lost!

oatmeal-jul7_08

18.5g fat, 11g fiber, 17g protein

I’m thinking of buying a coffee grinder so that I can grind flax seeds for my oatmeal…do you guys think it’s worth it to buy one just for that purpose? Or would a hand blender be equally effective?

Post-run snack:

snack-jul7_08

Plain yogurt, a plum, and a broken up blueberry-raisin granola bar. This was the last of my oat bars! Gotta bake more!

6g fat, 4g fiber, 9g protein L

unch:

lunch-jul7_08

A nectarine and a tuna-pumpkin sandwich, ’cause I wanted to save the kale and mixed veggies for dinner! And also ’cause I was curious as to what it would taste like πŸ˜€

5g fat, 10g fiber, 14g protein

Dinner:

dinner-jul7_08

“Tomato” soup with microwaved kale on the side! The soup contains 1 small mashed potato, 2 different types of frozen veggie mix, about 0.25 of a medium onion, 1 clove minced garlic, 0.25 cup canned mixed beans, and 2 tbsp chicken broth mixed with 3 tbsp Classico Tomato & Basil sauce and the leftover boiling water from the pot! I guess I’ve found another use for my huge jar of pasta sauce now πŸ˜€

6g fat, 15g fiber, 13g protein –right on!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 7, 2008

PBJ oats?? Divine!!

2. Lindsay - July 7, 2008

i really like my black & decker coffee grinder… i got it for $9 (i think?) at target a while back and it is so easy to use and works wonderful… i highly doubt a hand blender will work (flax seeds are pretty small so i’m not sure how the blades would get in there?)… but who knows! good luck πŸ™‚ now i want some pbj oats!

3. Jenn - July 7, 2008

Ah yes, nothing like a spoonful of PB to make a bowl of oatmeal the best it can be. That first picture is gorgeous!!

Tuna-pumpkin sandwich? You crazy! But I like it πŸ™‚

4. Kristie - July 8, 2008

Uh oh, another pb oatmeal addict? They are taking over! I really need to have that combo more often, I rarely have pb with my oats.

Tuna pumpkin sounds like a weird combo haha. How did it taste?!

5. Leng - July 9, 2008

your oatmeal looks so pretty!

I think it would be a good idea to invest in a good coffee grinder to grind your flax. I have one that’s just for nuts the other just for my coffee beans. The blade grinders don’t grind as fine, if you want a grinder that gives you a more consistent and fine texture, you’d want to go with a Burr grinder.

….but then again, does it really matter with flaxseed? Haha, I’m putting too much thought into this.

lOve your experiments!


Leave a Reply

