jump to navigation

Oatmeal #63: Chocolate Cinnamon-Raisin – Cooked & Baked July 8, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Recipes, Snack.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Cooked:

oatmeal-jul8_08 (2)

So so so excited for this! And now that I’ve tried it I must say that I’ve really been missing out all those years! Oh I’m so glad I started this blog ๐Ÿ˜€

I added 3 cups of water to my oats today just to see if it increases their volume or whatever…and it doesn’t really seem to? Hmmm…will do more experimenting on that tomorrow!

oatmeal-jul8_08

Along with a cup of earl grey tea–I’ve never noticed the citrus-y taste before I read about it on some web article! I think I’ve finally found a type of tea that I prefer over all others!

Anywhoo this breakfast has: 18g fat, 7.5g fiber, 19g protein

Baked:

oatmeal-jul8_08 (3)
more of my neon baking mat for the health of your eyes ๐Ÿ˜€

If I wasn’t about to leave for my run in like…10 minutes, I would have gobbled one down straight away!

Chocolate Cinnamon-Raisin Oatmeal Chunks
Recipe:

  • 1 cup quick oats [I used 0.5 cup ground, 0.5 cup flakes]
  • 0.25 Kellogg’s All-bran cereal [because I put this stuff in everything ๐Ÿ˜€ You can also just use more oats instead]
  • 0.5 cup raisins [I actually used 0.25 cup + 2 tbsp]
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 tsp cinnamon [for mixing in or for sprinkling]
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 75% of half a small banana, mashed
  • 0.25 cup milk or soy milk
  • 3 tbsp applesauce

Mix all ingredients together. Scoop parts of the dough with a spoon and drop them onto parchment paper or baking mat. Bake at 350 F for 10 to 12 minutes.

Makes 7 servings.
Nutrition info: 99 kcal, 1g fat, 22g carbohydrate, 3g fiber, 3g protein

It was the perfect post-run snack!

snack-jul8_08

For some reason I couldn’t finish my breakfast this morning! What the hell? Total blasphemy. So I had that [hence the ugly bowl], one oat chunk, and then plain yogurt with a plum and the leftover banana from baking. Yes, I have ginormous snacks, I know.

Lunch and dinner were the same as the day before, except after dinner I had another nectarine and 0.5 cup of blueberries for dessert ๐Ÿ˜€ I like dessert ๐Ÿ˜€

Anyway, gotta finish reading my lab article for the lab meeting tomorrow so that I can go buy my coffee grinder in the morning!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 8, 2008

YUM!!!!!!! Ahh, it’s the blinding green baking mat again ;0)

2. lindzakins921 - July 8, 2008

love the neon green baking mat – i want one ๐Ÿ™‚

those ‘chunks’ look delish!

3. Jenn - July 8, 2008

Those look chunk-tastic! Thanks for sharing the recipe – and of course that neon green baking mat.

I’m loving the pictures of your oatmeal lately – so crisp and clear!!


Leave a Reply

