jump to navigation

Oatmeal #64: Barley July 10, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’ve got a bag of pearl barley courtesy of mom’s visit–so I decided to use it 😀

Yesterday’s breakfast:

oatmeal-jul9_08

I used 0.25 cup cooked barley [= 2 tbsp uncooked barley], 0.25 cup oatmeal–wayy too chewy. Can’t believe I’m actually saying this…but the barley took a ridiculous amount of time to chew…and there were little bits that I couldn’t really get at–which was a little annoying 😛

oatmeal-jul9_08 (1)

Other stuff in the oatmeal included: goji berries, longans, wheat germ, PB, and milk. Along with a cup of green tea.

Zoomin’ along to today’s breakfast:

oatmeal-jul10_08

Today I used 2 tbsp cooked barley [= 1 tbsp uncooked], 0.44 cup oatmeal–a lot better! Makes everything a lot chewier, but not so chewy that I spend about an hour on each spoonful 😀

oatmeal-jul10_08 (1)

Other stuff: nectarine, milk, sunflower seeds, cinnamon, PB, and flax! My coffee grinder works! Whoo hooo! It was a lot louder than I thought…nearly jumped out of my socks when I first started on it 😛 But it’s all worth it ’cause now I’ve got ground flax to use! Today’s lunch was a potluck for all the neuroscience labs in the building, hence no pictures 😀 But I made butter cookies–the process was kind of a disaster and they were a little too crunchy…but at least people ate it! Dinner:

dinner-jul10_08

Chunky potato soup with a chicken broth base–yummeh 😀 Along with a banana and 0.25 cup blueberries. It feels so weird eating bananas so late in the day ’cause usually I would have devoured one already!

Unfortunately I didn’t go running today due to a combo of waking up about 12 minutes later than usual, and breakfast took a little longer to make than usual [’cause I was washing the coffee grinder 😛 ]. The baking wouldn’t have been an issue at all since I could have finished it after breakfast and by the time it was time to go running. 😐 Oh well! Can always do that tomorrow–given the weather network doesn’t try to be all ironic and sarcastic on me again 😀

Comments»

1. Kristie - July 10, 2008

Too much chew?! Never! Haha. Oats and barley sounds like an interesting combo though, I’ll have to give it a try if I ever buy some barley.

And woohoo for freshly ground flax! hehe

2. Jenn - July 11, 2008

Well I guess I need to try barley – I LOVE chew!! Although sometimes I like it a little too much and my jaw starts to tense up 🙂

Glad the coffee grinder worked for ya!

3. mi - August 9, 2008

thanks for the tip about mixing in barley – i have a fair amount of pearl barley in the pantry that’s been neglected, i should try this.

4. Carol - January 27, 2011

I just found this doing a search on pearl barley or oatmeal. I make mine in a rice cooker and add cinnamon, raisins, and after it’s cooked, add almonds and chopped apples. Cooks much faster and don’t have to stand over it and it’s chewy but at least it’s slow digestable carb and lots of fiber which makes it great for you in so many ways.


Leave a Reply

