jump to navigation

Oatmeal #65: Texture – Part I July 12, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I wanted to see what the difference was between 25% milk and 50% milk, so I made two bowls of oatmeal over two days.

Yesterday:

>oatmeal-jul11_08
0.25 cup milk, 0.75 cup water

Today:

DSCN5396
0.5 cup milk, 0.5 cup water

Before the comparisons begin, there were two things that could have affected the end result:

  • Cooking time may not have been consistent: I didn’t get the idea to do this until after I made breakfast yesterday…so didn’t keep track of cooking time! [And I forgot to do it today…-sigh]
  • The milk wasn’t added at the same time: Didn’t keep track of the exact time either…yesterday I added the milk as the oat-water mixture started bubbling…and today was the same, but the milk was definitely added earlier today, since there were only 0.5 cup of water with the oats. ARGH.

I’m such a bad scientist…

Anyway! Appearance wise, the one with more milk obviously looks a lot whiter, and during cooking, I noticed that there was a lot more cream in my pot today. Taste wise though, I didn’t really feel there was any difference. The barley was kinda overpowering the oats though, so tomorrow I’m going to cut the barley, keep track of cooking time, and hopefully I’ll get a more controlled experiment πŸ˜€

Oh, and with the exception of milk and water amounts, both bowls contained the same amount of: barley, flax, banana, peanut butter, corn, and sunflower seeds [might have had a little less of it today? But that doesn’t really affect the texture so I’m not concerned πŸ˜€ ] There isn’t really a reason for this particular mixture except for the fact that I wanted a fairly plain bowl of oatmeal so I could actually taste the differences–if there were any!

And ROAR I accidentally deleted my lunch and dinner pictures from yesterday! Okay, then quick overview:

  • Lunch: open faced tuna-cucumber sandwich, chocolate banana milk
  • Dinner: potato, olive oil, chicken broth, peas, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, mixed frozen veggies, raw red pepper, blueberries, peach

Officially addicted to raw peppers–yum!

Comments»

1. lindzakins921 - July 12, 2008

awww i hate when i accidentally delete pictures i’ve taken… its so frustrating!

have a great weekend πŸ˜‰

2. Sagan - July 12, 2008

Chocolate banana milk? I’m assuming thats a homemade concoction?

3. oatmeal - July 13, 2008

Sagan — yep πŸ˜€

4. Jess - July 13, 2008

Hey there! Thanks for checking out my blog! It’s hard to get started with it, i appreciate the support so much! Your blog looks fantastic!

5. Jenn - July 14, 2008

What a great experiment! I’ve always wondered whether the amount of milk truly has an effect on overall taste. Can’t wait to see the official scientific results πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

