jump to navigation

Oatmeal #66: Texture – Part II July 14, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

More excitement! Yesterday:

oatmeal-jul13_08 (1)
1 cup water

Today:

oatmeal-jul14_08 (1)
1 cup soy milk

When cooking this morning–my pot was exploding with foams and stuff! No idea why the soy milk caused that!

oatmeal-jul13_08

Oh, and another thing that was different with the soy milk–seems like it took a lot longer to cook than with water! Maybe it was ’cause I was hungry…since I decided to have breakfast after my run today…forgot to time the cooking again! I did time my cooking on the first day–10 minutes. Argh–but that’s kinda useless without anything to compare it to.

oatmeal-jul14_08

Anyway! Taste-wise there wasn’t too much difference–although today’s breakfast smelled a lot better, and maybe was a little sweeter? I think I need to make two bowls of oatmeal and eat them on the same day so I can get the subtle differences!

In a tentative conclusion: milk & water mixture = best. All-milk and all-water doesn’t seem to produce the same creaminess. My all-milk mixture also turned out way too dry! But I think I’ll give it another go before I make any definite statements.

Moving on! Check out my exciting dinner! 😀

dinner-jul14_08
No soup today!

Bottom left: 0.5 mashed potato with 1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil –oil makes all the difference in the world! Tasted almost buttery!
Bottom right: 0.25 cup white&brown rice mixture, rice vinegar, corn, mixed frozen veggies
Top right: 0.5 salmon fillet, lemon juice, 2 tsp parmesan, spinach –SO AWESOME.
Top left: raw red peppers! Fast becoming a staple food 😀

All of this along with a huge cup of water!

I was full from dinner…but decided to have dessert anyway:

dessert-jul14_08

Plain yogurt, unsweetened cocoa, blueberry-cherry jam, wheat germ, all-bran, and raspberries.

Too much cocoa–not enough jam! 😦 And the raspberries made everything wayy too sour D: I really need to buy some maple syrup or honey! But I want to finish my tub of sugar first 😐

Pancakes for breakfast tomorrow! [I would normally say “SO EXCITING” here…but I feel like I use that word a lot…along with the words “amazing” and “awesome” 😛 Need more synonyms!]

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 14, 2008

Looks great! Can’t wait to see the pancakes :0)

2. lindzakins921 - July 14, 2008

oooooo potatoes & olive oil… sounds like a yummy combo – i’ll have to try that next time!

3. Shirley - July 15, 2008

On some cooking program (maybe Good Eats) it was said that if you are going to make porridge with both milk and water, you should first cook the porridge for a while in water and then add the milk. I forget why though! I usually use 4 parts water and one part milk.

4. Megan - July 15, 2008

Are those peas in your oatmeal? Those have to be my two favorite foods, but I never thought of combining them. I have mixed Cream of Wheat with mixed vegatables and ketchup. It was actually pretty good and tasted like a recipe with grits!

5. Jenn - July 15, 2008

Another interesting experiment! I do agree that 1/2 water, 1/2 milk (almond for me!) is the best way to do it!

Mmm…can’t wait to see those pancakes 🙂

6. oatmeal - July 15, 2008

Shirley
Interesting! Well I guess I found out for myself the exciting way :mrgreen: Must look this up!

Megan
Yes they are peas 😀
Ooo ketchup and cream of wheat–I’m kinda tempted to try this!

Jenn
I agree! That combo or 0.75 water 0.25 milk seem to work best–although I really want to try cooking with almond milk–I bet it smells amazing when cooking!


Leave a Reply

