jump to navigation

Oatmeal #70: Cinnamony Coconut Pancakes July 20, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Recipes.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Had pancakes again yesterday!

oatmeal-jul19_08 (1)

I bought a small-ish bag of unsweetened shredded coconut and decided to try it out…unfortunately, I couldn’t really taste it at all! Couldn’t even smell it! 😦 Maybe I added too little? I only put a tbsp in…the cinnamon was too overpowering. However, I definitely felt it when I was chewing, so yay? 😛 It’s been a really long time since I had the stuff…but I wasn’t expecting it to be so…flavorless?

oatmeal-jul19_08

I had it with a cup of mocha. I’ve finally decided to give chocolate coffee a try! All I did was add a teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa to my instant coffee mix and added half a cup of soy milk–tasted really great! It was like caffeinated chocolate milk 😀

Lunch was the same dealio as yesterday, so no pictures 😀

I made some awesome dessert/snack stuff on Friday morning:

DSCN5525

Sweet bean soup! [it’s a pretty popular Chinese dessert 😀 ] Made it with red beans, black-eyed peas, and pearl barley–just like my mom did! I added raw sugar…but I think she used something else. It was really good 😀 I had about half a cup of this for snack yesterday.

Happiest dinner ever!

DSCN5535

Raw orange pepper stuffed with green lentils, chickpeas, onions, and parmesan cheese. Microwaved frozen veggies on the side! I also had a bowl of soup, which contained the excess of what was supposed to go in the pepper 😀 I guess I overestimated how much half a pepper could hold! But I’m glad I had the soup! It smelled really good, could have used some salt [or more broth] though.

Chickpea Lentil Soup
Serves 1

  • 1/4 cup chickpeas
  • 1/4 of a medium white onion
  • 2 tbsp green lentils, pre-soaked [keep the liquid]
  • 2 tbsp broth
  • 1.25 cup water
  • salt, to taste [or more broth] – optional

Boil the onions and water over medium high heat, then add the lentils [and the liquid it was soaked in]. Cook til mixture bubbles again. Add chickpeas, broth, and salt. When the soup starts boiling, turn heat off.

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 20, 2008

Your pancakes are always so pretty! :0)

2. glidingcalm - July 20, 2008

yum, those sound good!!

3. Jenn - July 20, 2008

That pancake is HUGE! Wow, I need to make mine thicker next time. I’m feeling a little inadequate 😉

I love how your “dessert” is sweet bean soup. You always manage to bring in so many different cultural foods – it’s exciting to read 🙂


Leave a Reply

