jump to navigation

Oatmeal Challenge: Pizza & Bean Balls July 26, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Dinner, Lunch, Oatmeal Challenge, Recipes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Yesterday, I finished off pizza week with oatmeal!

oatmeal-jul25_08

Along with kale and the excess toppings in a separate bowl! It was good that I had extra food, ’cause the pizza was quite small 😦

The dough was nothing fancy–oats, whole wheat flour, baking powder, and water! A recipe for regular pizza dough that I found said also to add oil, salt, etc but I didn’t feel like it 😛

Here’s my version:

Oatmeal Pizza Dough [no yeast required!]
Makes 1 thin crust pizza

Ingredients:
0.25 cup whole wheat flour
0.25 cup quick oats
1 tsp baking powder
0.25 cup water
1 tsp vegetable oil [if desired]

Preheat oven to 400 F. Mix all ingredients together and bake 10-15 minutes.

The center of the pie was quite doughy, and the crust was a little tougher. It didn’t really taste like the pizza crust you get at restaurants [maybe due to lack of oil?], but rather more like stiff flatbread/tortilla.

oatmeal-jul25_08 (1)

The sauteed toppings: onions, chickpeas, tofu, orange peppers, parmesan cheese

Sauce was Classico Tomato & Basil sauce. I don’t have normal “pizza sauce”, so I figured pasta sauce works too 😀

Oh and check out my exciting lunch today!

lunch-jul26_08

I opted to make bean balls this morning [out of adzuki beans and green lentils] this morning instead of going for a run 😛 They tasted great–slightly crunchy because I baked them a little too long, but had just the right amount of seasoning–and it didn’t take much! Just 2 tsp soy sauce and 1 tsp pasta sauce, the rest of the flavor were all beans.

lunch-jul26_08 (1)

For fun factor, I used about 2 tablespoons quick oats in the batter–not sure what difference it made though! 😛

The white stuff to the left of the bean balls is a cucumber-yogurt sauce–chopped cucumbers, plain yogurt, and lemon juice–a little bit of yogurt really goes a long way! It tasted almost like mayonnaise.

And to finish off my adventurous tortilla, a random raw kale leaf 😛 I don’t really have a lot of things in my fridge to stuff wraps with!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 26, 2008

KALE!!! **swoons**

Love the pizza dough recipe!!

2. Jenn - July 27, 2008

I love the oatmeal pizza crust – what a great idea! Anything that’s crispy on the outside and doughy on the inside is perfect for me 🙂

I’ve never made bean balls – they look sort of like falafel. And sound yummy.

3. Kristie - July 27, 2008

I like the sounds of your no yeast dough. Gonna have to give that one a try! Especially since it involves oatmeal, how exciting is that.

4. MizFit - July 28, 2008

am I a CHILD that I now wanna make that my catchphrase?

“PIZZA & BEAN BALLS, People! you screwed this up!”

5. oatmeal - July 28, 2008

Jenn
Now that you mention it, they kinda do! Although I don’t think I’ve ever tried falafels before 😛

Kristie
Anything involving oatmeal is exciting! 😀

MizFit
Hahaha that is too funny :mrgreen: That would make an amazing catchphrase/war cry/mantra/etc

6. Gc7x Surge Reviews - May 2, 2013

I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and engaging,
and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something too few people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I came across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

7. Get Rid of Herpes Review - June 23, 2013

Quality articles or reviews is the main to be a focus for the
viewers to pay a quick visit the site, that’s what this website is providing.

8. Green Coffee Bean Max Review - Green Coffee Bean M - September 29, 2014

This post is really a nice one it assists new the web users, who are wishing in favor of blogging.


Leave a Reply

