jump to navigation

Oatmeal #75: Cornbread pancake July 27, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner.
Tags: ,
trackback

Yesterday’s breakfast:

oatmeal-jul26_08 (1)

Quick and easy to make 😀 [1 tbsp cornmeal, 2 tbsp frozen corn added to my yogurt pancake recipe!] Since I went and bought yogurt on Friday [$2 a tub! How can I stay away??]–I can enjoy tangy pancakes again! The batter smelled so much like dessert!

The chewing experience was quite fun–the coarse cornmeal gave my pancakes a very subtle and grainy texture, while the corn provided little bursts of mushiness and prevented the whole thing from being too dry. This pancake totally reaffirmed my love for corn oatmeal!

 oatmeal-jul26_08

I topped the huge pancake off with half a mashed banana with walnuts, and had a huge cup of milk coffee [since I switched coffee mugs, I’ve been adding 0.5 cup soy milk to my coffee–so I feel like I’m drinking coffee milk rather than coffee with milk–which is fine with me 😛 ]

Yesterday’s dinner was fairly normal–I figured after my oatmeal-sotto and pizzas, I needed something nice and simple!

dinner-jul26_08

Pasta!

With Classico Tomato & Basil sauce, tofu, cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, peppers, onions, and kale

I also had dessert:

dessert-jul26_08

Peach yogurt with cinnamon sprinkled on top! 

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 27, 2008

Cornbread-oatmeal?? Enticing!! And the pasta looks delish as well.

2. lindzakins921 - July 27, 2008

mmmmmmm how creative… i’ve had cornmeal pancakes before and loved em… and seeing as how i love oats… now i want to try throwing some corn in my oats haha

3. Jenn - July 28, 2008

Gosh I just love all of your pancakes, Carmen. They always look so thick and satisfying! And my favorite part is the banana topping because it just makes it look so elegant!

And I love cornbread. You’ve gotta try the gluten-free hot cereal because there are pieces of cornmeal in there that just taste awesome.

4. jiaying - July 29, 2008

i love your breakfasts!!! 😀

just wondering.. do you ever eat fried food? :p


Leave a Reply

