jump to navigation

Switching Things Up July 28, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snack.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

For those of you who like banana oatmeal, this is a really nice alternative for when you want to change it up a bit!

oatmeal-jul27_08 (1)

Pear oatmeal! The mushy kind–I used Bartlett pears ’cause it was on sale 😀 [what goes into my mouth every week pretty much reflects what’s on sale at the grocery store!] Soft enough to easily mash into your oatmeal, and like bananas, it’s sweet enough to sweeten up your oats without any sugar! Also tastes fantastic with peanut butter!

Add a little unsweetened coconut on top for happy fun chew time :mrgreen:

oatmeal-jul27_08

Had my oats with a nice big cup of mocha that takes me a billion hours to finish.

For today’s breakfast, I changed up my pancake batter and topping! How wild am I?!

oatmeal-jul28_08 (1)
Huge
blueberries! I love blueberries…

Anyway, in my batter, instead of yogurt, I subbed in 2 tsp wildberry jam and 2 tbsp milk for a sweeter pancake. I also added 1 tbsp unsweetened coconut ’cause I like the extra texture! Plus it smells really good.

And I think it’s pretty obvious what my topping of the day is–1 tbsp plain yogurt, walnuts, and blueberries! I was going to use bananas, but I didn’t want my breakfast to be too sweet, and I added the blueberries for the nutrients and extra zing.

oatmeal-jul28_08

Looks so pretty and colorful! I think this will be my topping of choice for a while 😀

I didn’t really switch up much in yesterday’s post-run snack other than having pear yogurt for the first time ever:

snack-jul27_08

But for lunch and dinner, I did a little switch-around–rice for lunch, tortilla for dinner! I also tried a new way of flavoring my rice, inspired by a recipe I found:

lunch-jul27_08

I only realized just now that the recipe for a soup, but when I was making lunch yesterday, half my brain cells decided to go on strike and I somehow turned the whole thing into a risotto…and not even a proper risotto at that!

Anyway, couldn’t really taste or smell the green tea in the rice! Maybe that’s why the recipe was a soup instead of rice…but anyhow it still tasted great and really filled me up 😀 [although I still went home to have a snack 1.5 hours later..]

dinner-jul27-08

Tortilla, bean balls, red peppers, cucumber, and half a slice of cheddar cheese! With a slice of microwaved kale + parmesan. I thought I was going to bake the kale and peppers, but apparently I was kidding myself. Nevertheless, everything tasted great 😀 It’s rather strange but awesome having lunch food for dinner!

Today’s post-run snack was again, not really that much different:

snack-jul28_08

Leftover mocha from breakfast, chocolate corn scone/cookie, sliced nectarine, and water.

Lunch was tortilla with cuc-yogurt sauce, bean balls, and kale. I already photographed it once, so I didn’t bother taking another picture 😛

The excitement returned at dinner time–black bean soup!

dinner-jul28_08

Unfortunately, I don’t have a food processor or a blender [just a coffee grinder, but the instructions said not to puree food in it? Anyone know why?] so I minced the onions and peppers with the veg knife, and mashed beans with a fork. I also added a dollop of plain yogurt into the soup! I’ve never done that before–but it wasn’t bad at all! Made the soup creamier and tastier 😀

On the breakfast menu tomorrow–exciting new pancake recipe as formulated by my insatiable sweet tooth :mrgreen:

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 28, 2008

Wow, there’s a LOT of tasty experiments in this post – yum!!

Can’t wait to see the new pancake recipe!! Does it involve chocolate?? CAROB?? :0)

2. Rose - July 28, 2008

What a great idea to use pears! Love the photos, as usual!

3. cara - July 28, 2008

that is a fantastic idea for oatmeal. Mmm. Might have to give it a try if they are on sale this week 😉

4. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) - July 29, 2008

Pear oatmeal sounds like a great idea. Thanks!

5. Jenn - July 29, 2008

I still haven’t tried pear oatmeal. I’m just so behind on the times!

6. Sagan - July 29, 2008

Your huge pancakes are awesome. And I am a big banana oatmeal fan so the pear oatmeal sounds great!

7. Oatmeal #110: Sesame - Part II « The Oatmeal Experiment - September 20, 2008

[…] I used some! I really really need to go back to cooking my oats so I can mash the pears like I did before! As convenient as muesli is, you start to miss cooked oats after a […]


Leave a Reply

