jump to navigation

Oatmeal #78: Brownie Pancakes July 30, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Recipes.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

For some reason I’ve been craving brownies these past few days, so I decided to bake some–pancake style!

I tried two different versions, playing around with measurements and ingredients, and ended up with two different, but equally tasty pancakes πŸ˜€

Yesterday’s version:

oatmeal-jul29_08 (1)

oatmeal-jul29_08 (2)

It came out drier and less fudgy/sweet than I’d like, but still chewy and great! I think there wasn’t enough liquid or something…

Here’re the contents of the batter:

  • 0.5 cup + 1 tsp oats
  • 1 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 tbsp flax
  • 0.5 tsp baking powder
  • 0.25 medium banana, mashed
  • 0.25 cup raspberries, mashed
  • 0.25 cup water

Preheat oven to 375 F. Mix everything together. Bake for 15 minutes, flip pancake and bake 2 more minutes.

The nutritional profile is great though–10g fiber, 9g protein! I think I have successfully created the most fibrous brownie ever! :mrgreen:

Anywhoo, to continue the excitement, here’s today’s version of the pancake:

DSCN5753 

Lighting’s not so great in my room, so unfortunately the texture is lost in the pictures! 😦

DSCN5748

Anyway, I thought I was going to go running today, so I threw together the batter last night and stored it in the fridge to cut down prep time. When I took it out of the fridge, the batter had a pudding-like consistency–awesome! I contemplated just nuking the batter in the microwave and see if I could get a pudding pancake that way, but decided to save that for another time and just play it save today!

Anywhoo, I stuck the thing in the oven–and this batter turned out a little too moist…although the shape still held so it wasn’t a big deal.

Tastewise–the texture is definitely a lot more brownie-like, but still not as sweet as a real brownie! [although definitely sweeter than yesterday]

Here’re the contents–not that much different, but baking time wasn’t the same:

  • 0.5 cup + 1 tsp oats
  • 1 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 tbsp flax
  • 0.5 tsp baking powder
  • 0.25 medium banana, mashed
  • 5 raspberries, mashed
  • 2 tsp Ed Smith’s triple berry jam
  • 0.25 cup water

Preheat oven to 350 F. Bake 15 minutes, then flip pancake over and bake 3 more minutes.

Interesting! I’ll definitely be playing around with this recipe a little more, and maybe also try the microwave method next time πŸ˜€

Anyway, yesterday I made black bean butter to go in my tortilla:

lunch-jul29_08

It really does taste like butter! I subbed rice vinegar for balsamic vinegar since that was the only thing I had–but yeah, it was deeeeelicious!

Dinner was a classic–spaghetti & bean balls!

DSCN5744

Used up the last of my adzuki-lentil balls and cauliflower–it was awesome! I felt so kiddish digging into this dish πŸ˜›

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - July 30, 2008

BROWNIE PANCAKES?!?!?! Ooooh, that’s devilishly divine :0)

2. Rose - July 30, 2008

Love the playing with oatmeal you did today! What a great and delicious idea.

May I ask what’s sitting to the left of your black beans?

And bean balls? That sounds intriguing! I assume the recipe is on your blog somewhere… I will look!

3. Lila - July 30, 2008

I make giant brownie pancakes too! (we dont have an oven-plus theyre healthier)
I use(for a larger, more cake-like pancake):
1/2 cup ww flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tbs sugar
1 tbs cocoa powder
1 egg white
and enough water to make the batter thin-ish
i also sometimes mix in walnuts.
The more “brownie” one, which I discovered when I ran out of eggs:
same as above except I substitute the egg white for one flax egg.

4. mi - July 30, 2008

what delicious looking food you have here!! i MUST try brownie pancakes sometime!

5. oatmeal - July 30, 2008

Rose
Oh hahah that’s kellogg’s all-bran cereal XD [I ran out of things to put in my lunch πŸ˜› ]
And actually, the recipe isn’t on my blog–but if you want I can post it later πŸ˜€

Lila
Hmm I’ll have to try that some time! The flour would probably smooth out the texture by a LOT. I’ve been meaning to, but it’s tricky [for me anyway!] to separate the yolk and whites πŸ˜›

6. Shelby - July 30, 2008

Oh my goodness! These look fantastic…I’ve been meaning to try your original pancake recipe but come on this one has got chocolate in it =)

7. Sharon - July 30, 2008

Too great! Brownie pancakes sound delliiicious!

8. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) - July 30, 2008

I love brownies but the ones I love are the sugary, unhealthy ones. I tried making it with blueberries and applesauce once but it didn’t taste that good. A brownie pancake sound delish – and I love how it has such healthy ingredients! I must try it one day!

9. Sagan - July 30, 2008

I have such a weakness for brownies. These brownie pancakes look so good!

10. Jenn - July 30, 2008

Ah yum! Brownie pancakes look and sound great! For a chocolate lover like me, they would definitely satisfy that morning craving!

Mmm black bean butter? That sounds really tasty! I will have to check out the recipe.

11. Leng - July 31, 2008

OMG!!! BROWNIE PANCAKES!! I LOVE LOVE BROWNIES! (droOool)


Leave a Reply

