jump to navigation

Oatmeal #79: Green Tea July 31, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Snack.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This would have been combo #80, but I’m saving the other one from yesterday for another post πŸ˜€

Today’s pre-run breakfast:

oatmeal-jul31_08 (1)

I’ve been itching to try the combo of tea + oats, but then pancakes re-entered my life and I forgot everything else πŸ˜€

Anywhoozer! This morning I literally threw a tea bag in with the oats [after letting the tea steep by itself for a few seconds first], and I only added a splash of milk so it wouldn’t be too dry. [which always seems to happen if I make oats with only water] I also added 0.5 tsp-ish of matcha powder and vanilla extract ’cause green tea just isn’t that strong in terms of flavor.

The oats did taste rather tea-ish, but it was very very subtle–I couldn’t smell the tea at all. It did make a nice change though πŸ˜€ And I guess I got a nice dose of antioxidants this morning! πŸ˜€

 oatmeal-jul31_08

Along with the oats, I threw in some peas to match the green theme, flax, walnuts, and then some peaches ’cause I need fruits with breakfast! I ended up with a giant bowl of oats–I think it’s the peaches, since I didn’t bother cubing it this morning.

Randomly switching over to yesterday’s dinner:

dinner-jul30_08

The noodles are made of mung beans and water–I checked the package and was surprised because I’ve eaten this stuff countless times but never knew the ingredients list was so simple! Anyway, it tasted great with the pasta sauce and tilapia!

I meant to pan sear the fillet and have the end product look like a fillet, but I guess I was too cool for that.

Dinner part II:

 dinner-jul30_08 (1)

It filled me up for about an hour…and then I came back from lab and ate some blackberries & blueberries, which finally did the trick!

Another random switch to today’s post-run snack: [I tell you, if anyone was to leave me in charge of a time machine…]

 snack-jul31_08

Banana, plain yogurt, and choco black-corn cookie/scone/muffin/thing. I really like how the banana tastes with yogurt! It was a bit like a mixture of sour cream and sweetened cream cheese–yum! Hello new addiction!

I was actually pretty stuffed from the yogurt, but I decided to eat something else anyway:

 snack-jul31_08 (1)

Toasted tortilla [1/4 of the whole thing] with jam. I rather like it all crunchy like that! Oh my, food is just so awesome.

Comments»

1. mi - July 31, 2008

i love your creativity!!

2. jimmi - July 31, 2008

what kind of noodles did you use for your pasta dish there? looks great!

3. VeggieGirl - July 31, 2008

Tea with oats?? Sounds great!! And that toasted tortilla looks fabulous as well :0)

4. Megan - July 31, 2008

How did you make those noodles? I really want to try them!

http://megansmunchies.blogspot.com/

5. Shelby - July 31, 2008

I really like the idea of yogurt and bananas mixed together. It seems like the perfect sour/sweet combo. I’ll have to try it.

So creative with the Green Tea Oats, YUM!

6. oatmeal - July 31, 2008

jimmi
It’s vermicelli πŸ™‚

Megan
Oh I didn’t make them–but wouldn’t that have been cool?! The stuff I used is called vermicelli, and you can find them in asian markets!

7. Sagan - July 31, 2008

Food IS awesome. Clearly it was made to be combined in these creative ways!

8. Jenn - July 31, 2008

Haha, if anyone left you in charge of a time machine it would be quite an adventure. Love the new “experiment” – and the peas to continue the “green” theme is just too funny. Peas and PEACHES?! Haha, that’s madness πŸ˜‰

9. Kristie - July 31, 2008

Banana and yogurt is one of those combos that I just NEVER get tired of. Pretty sure I eat it in some form nearly every day.

10. Ashley - August 1, 2008

Very tasty food on the pics. Can you give us your recipes? πŸ˜‰

11. oatmeal - August 1, 2008

Sagan
Truer words have never been spoken, my friend!

Kristie
I can see why! That stuff is pure bliss~

Ashley
πŸ˜€
The tilapia’s just placed in an oiled pan, laced generously with lemon juice and 1 tsp of parmesan. And the rest of the veggies are merely thrown into the pan after the fish has been taken out! I add the noodle and sauce last, otherwise it gets messy! Very simple πŸ™‚

12. wikidordrecht.nl - May 18, 2013

Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?

There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

13. green coffee bean reviews - December 25, 2013

Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
like you wrote the book in it or something.
I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home
a little bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog.
An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.


Leave a Reply

