jump to navigation

Oatmeal #80: Blueberry Tea August 1, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Opening August with combo # 80–how appropriate! 😀

 oatmeal-aug1_08 (2)

Today’s oats include:

  • 0.5 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp flax, 1 tbsp walnuts
  • 1 tsp coconut
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 0.33 cup blueberries
  • 1 blueberry white tea bag
  • 1.25 cup water
  • splash milk

The kitchen was filled with the aroma of blueberries and a tiny hint of vanilla while this baby was cooking!

 oatmeal-aug1_08

Although the smell was prominent, the taste wasn’t! Maybe tea’s flavor just isn’t strong enough in general? I’ll probably give it other types of tea [like oolong–now that would be interesting!] a try before I make any conclusions though!

Here’s another picture ’cause coconut dresses up the oats so nicely! [and note that it complements the blue&white theme! :mrgreen: I’m so *artistic*]

oatmeal-aug1_08 (1)
Snowflakes!

I had breakfast part II today ’cause I wasn’t full:

bkfast-aug1_08
Jam & cucumber

Tortilla piece #2 because I dropped the first piece! 👿 My clumsiness is such a curse–I hate wasting food!

Yesterday’s dinner:

dinner-jul31_08

Vermicelli, 1 whole yellow pepper [!], frozen carrots&broccoli&cauliflower, onions, and chickpea patties [chickpeas, flour, lemon juice! Kinda like hummus patties :mrgreen: ]

LOVE these noodles! I still have one bunch left–must use it wisely!

Am off to get ready for grocery shopping!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - August 1, 2008

Blueberries!!! Yum :0)

Have fun food-shopping!! One of my favorite activities, for sure.

2. Shelby - August 1, 2008

Blueberries and Tea?? My two favorite things!! I’ll be making this ASAP.

Did you make up that recipe for chickpea patties? They seem wayy easier than some in cookbooks, do you have the recipe?

3. oatmeal - August 1, 2008

Shelby
I saw other people make it on other blogs and kinda just came up with my own 😀
Here’s what I used: 0.5 cup chickpeas [mashed], 1 tbsp flour, a very generous squirt of lemon juice [1 tsp maybe?], and 1 tsp canola oil. Just combine the first 3 ingredients in a bowl, form into patties, oil the skillet and drop the patties in, cooking them til golden brown. Let me know how it works out if you decide to try it!


Leave a Reply

