jump to navigation

Oatmeal #83: Microwave Zucchini Bread Pancake August 7, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Snack.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Breakfast from Tuesday:

oatmeal-aug5_08 (1)

I’m not sure why I decided to microwave the batter..maybe ’cause I was too lazy to clean the baking mat?

Anywhoo, pancake batter contents: zucchini [obviously], unsweetened coconut, cinnamon [I think?], flax, milk, oats. With banana-yogurt topping and walnuts! Coconuts in pancakes = #1! The zucchini was also a fun addition–green pancakes! What could be more fun than that?

 oatmeal-aug5_08 

Oh, and I should note that the microwave isn’t really the best pancake making tool…at least…for my type of batter it isn’t. Pieces were falling off when I attempted to lift the pancake…but thanks to the magic of overnight oatmeal + flax action, everything turned out alright 😀 Great option for when you’re in a hurry though!

Post-run snack:

snack-aug5_08

I was almost out of yogurt! And I wanted to stretch this container til the end of the week, so instead of banana yogurt, I had some form of banana yogurt soup: 0.5 banana, 0.5 – 1 tbsp plain yogurt, splash of rice milk & coffee–delicious, but was gone in a second!

With the soup, I had a mocha-cino muffin top–baked on Sunday! First time I’ve ever made anything muffiny 😀

Dinner–sushi salad!

dinner-aug5_08

Tons of raw veggies and rice that was cooked in the morning, so all I had to do when I came home was mix everything together! [Well…I had to microwave the frozen vegetables, but that takes 1 minute…] I need to have salads more often 😀

Off to run in about 10 minutes!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - August 7, 2008

Oooh, that pancake looks great!

Have a good run!

2. Kristie - August 7, 2008

Mm zucchini sounds like a great breakfast pancake addition!

I love that banana yogurt “soup” idea too haha. Definitely sounds like something I would like.

3. Panaderia La Espiga de Oro- Manzanillo’s Best Bakery! | Manzanillo Mexico Blog - August 7, 2008

[…] Oatmeal #83: Microwave Zucchini Bread Pancake […]

4. Jenn - August 7, 2008

Ooh using the microwave to get things done quick/create less to clean up – definitely my style 🙂

I’ve never tried zucchini in ANYTHING. Perhaps I’ll pick one up this weekend?

5. glidingcalm - August 7, 2008

whoaaaaa zucchini bread….PANCAKE?! what a good idea! I’ve tried to make those zucchini latke type things before, but they didn’t turn out well! Maybe I’ll try that!

6. Shelby - August 7, 2008

This looks great! Perfect for my rushed mornings before school. Can I use your yogurt pancake batter for this? And how long do I microwave it for?

7. oatmeal - August 8, 2008

Shelby
Yep, definitely 😀 And I only microwaved for 1 minute, but 1 min 30 sec might be better? Let me know how it works out for you!


Leave a Reply

