jump to navigation

Attack of the Tortillas August 9, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Dinner, Lunch, Oatmeal Challenge.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Thanks to grocery store sales, I bought 2 bags of whole grain tortillas about…2 weeks ago? And since then I’ve been having these things for lunch pretty much…every single day? 😛 So I thought it’d be fun to devote an entry [or like…twenty] to them!

Wednesday [July 30!]
Oatmeal Challenge: Oats for lunch!

oatmeal-jul30_08 (3)

“Toasted” [aka microwaved”] rolled oats with a bit of sweetener [the plain version was too bland!], with cucumbers, and tahini-free hummus [didn’t have enough beans to warrant buying a whole tub of tahini!]

It was good! The oats were like very chewy granola, the cucumbers provided crunch factor, and the hummus just gave the whole thing some extra zing with its tartness! Awesome 😀

 oatmeal-jul30_08 (2)

Thursday [July 31]
A lot of lentils

 

lunch-jul31_08 (1)

I had/have a lot of lentils lying around…

Friday [August 1]
Veggie Cereal

 lunch-aug1_08

Cereal + veggie in a tortilla = surprisingly good! But I knew that already 😀 I mean, it’s not that weird if you think of cereal like you’d think of rice…

Had this along with a small red plum! I think I didn’t get around to eating this til an hour after lunch?

Saturday [August 2]
Mexican-ish

lunch-aug2_08

Well since I had a can of black beans I thought it’d be cool to do the classic black beans & corn combo! Only instead of salsa I used ketchup…because I have a whole jug of it [thanks mom!] that I wanted to finish ASAP…like before school starts and I have to eat at the cafeteria…but I still haven’t finished it! I have never eaten so much ketchup in my life…

Sunday [August 3]
Doing the Splits

lunch-aug3_08

Check out how clever I am with the title! ‘Cause I split the tortilla in half! How funny am I?!

Anyway, I wanted to use the hummus I made again with carrots, but I also wanted to use ketchup, and I thought it’d be a waste of good hummus if the ketchup was mixed in ’cause the latter would overpower the former…so I chopped the tortilla in half and had two different “flavors”!

Monday [August 4]
Oatmeal Challenge: Corn & Carrot Soup

oatmeal-aug4_08 (2)

Finishing this entry off with some oats! I didn’t add a lot, just one tablespoon of ground oats to thicken the soup–because I read somewhere that you can use it for that! I don’t think it really did much though 😛

Oh, and I also used my coffee grinder to “puree” the cooked carrots & corn, I figured, hey, the thing looks and operates enough like a blender….! [I should note that the instructions specifically tells me not to puree soft foods and grind seeds…well…I’ve used it for both and my grinder’s still fine! Got a one year warranty anyway, so might as well test its limits! :mrgreen: ]

Anyway, for the tortilla, I merely popped 0.25 of one [I think?] in the toaster–it comes out like crackers! I used the soup as a dip–delicioussss~

Stay tuned for part two! [still got 2 tortillas left to use 😀 ]

Comments»

1. glidingcalm - August 9, 2008

oats and cereal in a wrap!? what a great idea! I’m loving all these savory oatmeal ideas I have been seeing in blogs lately!

2. All Vegged Out - August 9, 2008

I l-o-v-e wraps so now there’s drool all over my computer screen 😉

3. Shelby - August 9, 2008

I love your ideas for these wraps! I’ve never thought of oatmeal as savory but it all looks delicious =)

4. Sagan - August 9, 2008

Mmm those look great. Good ideas!

5. Jenn - August 9, 2008

Attach of the tortillas = awesome. I love the concept of oats inside the wrap! What brand of tortillas is it?

Oh, and you certainly are clever with your “Doing the Splits” concept 😉

6. VeggieGirl - August 9, 2008

Such fun tortilla variations! Yum!

7. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) - August 10, 2008

I like the oats, cucumber and hummus wrap idea. Sounds very interesting and looks good!

8. Tom Aarons - August 10, 2008

These look really healthy and tasty. Mmmm!


Leave a Reply

