jump to navigation

Oatmeal # 89: Papaya August 13, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert, Snack.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Sucky lighting alert!

oatmeal-aug12_08 (1)

Papaya! Haven’t had this in ages, and my brother made papaya milk on Sunday night so there was leftovers that needed to be used up! And you know what happens whenever there are leftovers in my kitchen!

Verdict–very interesting taste! Papayas are soft like bananas and pears, so they’re great in terms of contributing to sweetness and flavors, but I thought there was a very very very small undertone of bitterness? It didn’t bug me–but worth noting!

 

oatmeal-aug12_08

Um yeah, the chunky coffee was kind of an experiment in itself…I still had half a cup of papaya milk leftover so um…I think you can guess what happened next! It was actually pretty nasty! The flavors did not match, the coffee was wayy too strong and bitter! I ended up adding the whole thing [after forcing myself to drink half the cup…] into my oats–and it tasted great! I don’t know how that works.

Ooooh yesterday mom made the most awesome dessert ever–walnut soup!

dessert-aug11_08

SO GOOD.

Anyway–this morning I was so hungry that I had two formal snacks [I usually get bites of other food after my “formal snack”, but I never photograph those ’cause that’s boring 😛 ]

Post-yoga snack #1:

snack-aug12_08

Bran flakes, cheerios, blueberries, milk.

Snack #2:

snack-aug12_08 (1)

Mom’s vegetable soup! 😀 I haven’t had turnips in ages!

Off to look up plane tickets to California! Anyone got any good restaurant recommendations?

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - August 13, 2008

Papaya-milk? Walnut soup? Oooh!! 😀

2. VeggieGirl - August 13, 2008

P.S. where in California are you going?? That’ll help to narrow down restaurant choices (since there’s soooo many good ones there!).

3. oatmeal - August 13, 2008

VeggieGirl
Around the Hollywood area? Not really sure, actually 😛 But we’re doing a ton of tourist stuff so we’ll probably be all over the place!

4. Sagan - August 13, 2008

How do you make papaya milk?

5. Jenn - August 13, 2008

Haha that papaya milk + coffee experiment made me laugh. Definitely one of the most creative to date – and so funny that it tasted good once you dumped it in with the oatmeal!

Do you have the recipe for walnut soup, if you don’t mind?! Looks sooo yum!

6. Christie - August 13, 2008

I feel like papaya is hit or miss if you get it when it is sweet I love it but sometimes it does not have enough flavor. The oats look great like usual

7. Kristie - August 13, 2008

Mm papaya milk sounds good! I don’t even think I’ve ever tried a papaya though.. I’ve been meaning to do that. Every time I pass by them in the grocery store I consider them… mayne next time.

And I totally want to try that walnut soup, sounds deeelish.

8. oatmeal - August 14, 2008

Sagan
Throw half a papaya, the same amount of milk, and a bit of sugar into a blender 😀 [makes more than one serving, I think]

Jenn
As far as I know, all you have to do is blend rice and walnuts together, then boil the mixture along with some brown sugar 🙂


Leave a Reply

