jump to navigation

Oatmeal #90 : Nutty August 15, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Vacation going awesome! πŸ˜€ Lots of great food and goggling over crazy gymnasts flipping around on the TV [!] screen.

Anyway, Wednesday’s breakfast:

oatmeal-aug13_08 (1)

I found this granola bar while exploring the pantry [SO MUCH FOOD IN THERE] one day and have been excited to add this to my oats ever since! However, I was expecting it to be crunchy [well..the label saids "crunchy and chewy"!] but it wasn’t 😦 I guess I mistaken it for the other kind we used to buy from Costco! But the bar was great–a little too sweet though.

 oatmeal-aug13_08

List of stuff:

  • 0.5 cup Quaker oats
  • 0.75 cup water
  • 0.25 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp almond powder [it’s used to make this almond drink]
  • bit of almond extract
  • two handfuls blueberries
  • 1 tbsp cashews
  • 1 tbsp walnuts
  • 0.5 Nature Valley Sweet & Salty Peanut Bar [but I ended up eating the other half after πŸ˜› ]

    Couldn’t really taste the almond–but I could definitely smell it! πŸ˜€

    Lunch:

    lunch-aug13_08

    Congee! I guess it’s kinda like risotto, except without butter and parmesan…and probably without broth as well? πŸ˜› But it was great–haven’t had mom’s congee in ages! Too bad I fell asleep after my run and when I woke up there was like…this tiny bit at the bottom of the pot! πŸ‘Ώ

    Dessert–expensive stuff! [Love it when parents spoil me πŸ˜€ ]

    dessert-aug13_08

    The coconut milk was too coconutty though–so I diluted it with water. Mom made this again [we had a huge bag of this stuff] yesterday with almond paste–AWESOME. If it wasn’t near bed time I would have eaten the whole pot πŸ˜€

    Can’t wait to watch more gymnastics tonight!

  • Comments»

    1. Nicole - August 15, 2008

    I’m glad your vacation is going well!

    Your oatmeal looks really yummy! I looooove your blog, by the way.

    2. Tom Aarons - August 16, 2008

    What a lovely photo and great recipe for the granola oats. And the blueberries are definitely the… cherry on the cake (?) πŸ™‚

    3. C - August 16, 2008

    Glad your vacation is turning out well!

    That oatmeal looks so good!

    4. VeggieGirl - August 16, 2008

    Sooo happy that your vacation is going so well – keep it up!! πŸ™‚

    Mmm, OATMEAL!! Obviously can’t go wrong there πŸ˜€

    5. eatingbender - August 16, 2008

    I love vacation – can’t wait until I go home next week! I’m glad you’re having so much fun.

    Your oatmeal is absolutely gorgeous and that dessert looks very yummy. I’ve just fallen in love with coconut, so it’s perfect!


    Leave a Reply

