jump to navigation

Reminding you all of my updating skills August 26, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Snack.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Vacationing has lazied me! [so much that I can’t be bothered to use proper verbs]  Haven’t been blogging, haven’t been catching up with other blogs–roar.

Saturday
Oatmeal #98: Peppermint Tea

oatmeal-aug23_08 (1)

In yet another digging-through-the-pantry quest–I discovered a box of peppermint tea. Of course, I immediately thought: oatmeal + blogging = EATING ADVENTURES 😀

Not much stuff in this one–I think we were out of fruits:

  • oats
  • water
  • 2% milk
  • brown sugar [sprinkled on top ’cause it was a last minute addition]
  • walnuts
  • ground almonds
  • cinnamon
  • 1 peppermint tea bag

oatmeal-aug23_08

Oats + peppermint tea + toast + margarine

I think this tea the only kind [that I’ve tried so far] where I can actually taste the flavor. Don’t remember if the peppermint came through in the oats–but I could tell there was tea in there 😛

Post-something snack:

Could have been just a FEED ME snack for all I know 😛 Don’t remember if I yoga-ed in the morning or in the evening~

snack-aug23_08

Digest crackers dipped to sogginess in milk = favorite snack from since…at least high school?! This is the first time I’ve had this since I came home, so naturally I had to go back for another cracker and more milk 😀

Sunday
Oatmeal #99: Smoothies – Part IV

 oatmeal-aug24_08

Am going to use the blender as many times as I can before I leave for school!

This is possibly the simplest ingredients list you’re ever going to see on this blog:

  • 0.5 cup quick oats
  • 0.5 cup milk
  • 0.5 cup water
  • 0.5 Fiji apple
  • 5 strawberries

 oatmeal-aug24_08 (1)

Largest cup of smoothie I’ve made so far! Fruits really fills up space 😀

Oh oh so I ran on the treadmill instead of going outside since it was raining. So after a 45 minute run and I was walking to cool down, the machine said I was close to 1000 calories, but I saw that there were only three digit slots for the calorie counting slot! So I got curious and decided to walk a little longer to reach 1000 just to see if the machine would explode or something :mrgreen:

As you can see, nothing happened:

 treadmill-aug24_08

Not even a happy triumphant ditty or alarm bells or scientific notations or anything! What a cheap piece of crap!

Yesterday
Pile of mush

bkfast-aug25_08

Cereal for breakfast!!!

Bran flakes, digest cracker, raw brownie, strawberries, milk & soy milk.

With raspberry mocha.

Post-yoga snack

snack-aug25_08

Toast with blueberry yogurt spread on top 😀 I have such a huge sweet tooth, it’s ridiculous.

Dessert 

dessert-aug25_08

!!!!!!

Home-made glutinous rice balls! Courtesy of mom, of course 😀 I stayed up just for this!

The other stuff: red beans + lotus seeds. I think I can die happy now~

Off to run in about half an hour!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - August 26, 2008

No worries, Carmen – you SHOULD be enjoying every minute of vacation, whether it means you’re blogging or not!! 🙂

Oooh, the Peppermint Tea oatmeal variety sounds lovely; and that smoothie sounds quite refreshing!!

Have a good run!!

2. Tina - August 26, 2008

Love peppermint tea! This sounds like a great combo!

3. Shelby - August 26, 2008

What a refreshing combination =)

4. Kristie - August 26, 2008

I really like the peppermint tea in oatmeal idea. I’ll have to try adding random teas to my oatmeal bowls! Once I start actually eating oatmeal. I still can’t quite get into it with summer still here.

I love how being on vacation makes you totally lose track of your day eh? Nothing wrong with that though, enjoy it!

Now HOW did you manage to burn (over?!) 1000 calories on the treadmill? How fast were you going?? I can never burn over a few hundred! Grr..

5. oatmeal - August 26, 2008

Kristie
I know! Should enjoy not knowing what day it is while I still can!!

Haha I guess it’s the settings I used? I ran for 5 minutes at a starting speed of 6.5 and incline of 2.0, then 10 minutes at an incline of 3.0 and speed of 6.7, then 10 minutes at a speed of 7.0, then the last 10 minutes at an incline of 4.0 and a speed of 7.0. That’s 45 minutes of running. And then I cool down for 10 minutes at a speed of 4.5 and incline of 3.0 [as seen in the picture!] 😀 Although I don’t think I burnt as much as 1000 calories, maybe 800?

6. eatingbender - August 27, 2008

Haha, I laughed out loud at the treadmill – what a cheap piece of crap! 😉

Definitely enjoy your vacation time – especially if you get to eat rice balls that look like THAT – YUM!


Leave a Reply

