jump to navigation

Warm Up September 7, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Snack.
Tags: ,
trackback

Warming up for the recommencement of the next slew of oatmeal experiments [and school…-sigh-] with a nice, comforting bowl of microwaved banana oatmeal:

oatmeal-sep7_08 (1)

Yay!

Double-yay for being able to do this without explosions! 😀

  • oats, water, milk
  • banana
  • flax, walnuts, Muslix cereal [0.25 small box]
  • cinnamon & vanilla extract

Rated O for OMGSOGOOD!

The drink on the side, by the way–apple juice [dad’s leftovers] + green tea–which ended up tasting kinda gross, so I force-chugged the first half, then dumped the second half into my oats–which magically always makes gross stuff taste better 😀

 oatmeal-sep7_08

OMFG I LUV YOOOOU. 

No picture of lunch ’cause I ate in the cafeteria, but I had a huge bowl of vanilla yogurt + cheerios, milk, and a piece of PB toast. Then later I had a lot of peanuts :d

Post-grocery shopping snack:

I ate 3 pieces before I remembered to take a picture:

snack-sep7_08

I walked for 1 hour 30 minutes to buy Clif & LunaZ bars ’cause they were on sale–4 for $5! About 44 cents cheaper! I only bought 5 bars though–’cause they were still pretty expensive, being what they are!

The caf closes on Sunday nights, but luckily we’re able to use meal equivalencies to buy food!

Dinner:

dinner-sep7_08

I actually stole the whole wheat english muffin from the cafeteria at lunch today 😛 But I bought the salad!

After one bite of the muffin, I decided to break the bread up and eat it all jumbled up together instead–much easier!

 dinner-sep7_08 (1)

Of course, there’s no way anyone’d be full on that, so I ate the other [bigger] bowl of salad I bought:

 dinner-sep7_08 (2)

Chicken breast, mushrooms, spinach, mandarin oranges, sun-dried tomatoes, chile peppers, and red onions. I didn’t eat the peppers or the onions 😛 The salad came with a blue cheese dressing as well, but I didn’t eat much of it–not really a dressing person! [although I saved it anyway–possible oatmeal experiment?]

I ate pretty much all of the salad, but I saved a few spinach leaves and mushroom slices to go with the other stolen english muffin as a part of tomorrow’s lunch! 😀 Planning ahead–it’s what I do!

And no day is ever complete without dessert!

dessert-sep7_08

Mom’s green tea cake–the last three pieces [I ate 4 or 5 pieces yesterday–oops?] , and I ate them all! I figured–no time like the present! :mrgreen: I looked at it as the last chance for indulgence before all the organic chem, bio, and exams nightmare begins!

Anyway~off to floor meeting–don’t wanna be late!

Comments»

1. Shelby - September 7, 2008

How did you microwave the oats without them exploding!!?? I’ve tried it 3 times before with no luck =(

Green Tea Cake!!!!! Double Yum…Do you have the recipe?

2. oatmeal - September 7, 2008

Shelby
The key is to microwave them in intervals! For 0.5 cup, I microwave at 30 second intervals for a total of 2 minutes 🙂

And for the green tea cake, unfortunately I don’t have the exact recipe for this one–but I can ask my mom for it and maybe post it later 😀

3. VeggieGirl - September 7, 2008

Loving the “Explosion free” (haha) oats!! And your stuffed animal is too cute 😀

4. eatingbender - September 8, 2008

Your enthusiasm for that bowl of oatmeal is incredible – and I love it 🙂

Ooh, green tea cake, eh? That sounds pretty yummy! If you do get the recipe, don’t hesitate to post 😉

5. Sagan - September 8, 2008

Cakes looks great! And I’m always really exciting when my oatmeal doesn’t explode in the microwave, too.

6. wholefoodswholeme - September 8, 2008

haha i love your mickey/minnie spoon!! too cute! i love green tea anything. so good. and good job on the “stolen eats” – it’s what you do to survive when you’re a student!!

7. Kristie - September 8, 2008

An hour and a half for bars? Now that’s dedication! Sounds like a good sale though so I might be willing to make a walk like that for it, especially if it were a nice weather day outside 🙂

And yes, definitely try to get that green tea cake recipe from your mom, I would love to try making it!


Leave a Reply

